Affordable Mold Testing

Affordable Inspections

Scottsdale, AZ (map)

Thumbtack Highlighted service

Gold member

Licensed in AZ – Validate
Home Inspector – AZ43778

Let us do the work

  1. 1

    Answer a few questions about your needs

  2. 2

    Get a quote from this pro within 24 hours

  3. 3

    Get competing quotes from other pros

Request Free Quotes

About Affordable Inspections

hired 2 times on Thumbtack

Affordable Inspections is committed to providing its clients with services of the highest-quality Home inspecting and mold sampling throughout the Valley, With over 15 years of experience in the mold and home inspection business and over 20 years in the home and commercial contracting business.

We aim to exceed all inspection industry standards, while providing the service that you expect from a licensed and certified inspection company.

Let our experienced team employ their survey procedures to protect your most valuable asset! Give one of our friendly staff members in Phoenix or Scottsdale a call today.

1. Mold Sampling - Air and Surface: $125.00 per sample
2. Home inspection pricing starts at $220 including the termite inspection.

Air mold sampling consists of withdrawing a metered amount of air performed in the contaminated areas to determine the amount of mold spores and to help in the assessment of mold growth and the types of mold that are active in the living areas.

The samples are then shipped overnight to Environmental Microbiology Laboratories. An easy-to-read and -follow laboratory analysis report will be taken from the samples.

Home inspection reports include color photos and easy to understand summaries of the disclosed defects. The report is emailed to the same day.

Delivery of the test results can be mailed, faxed, or emailed within 24 hours. A minimum of 2 samples must be taken as an outdoor sample that will used by the laboratory for comparison purposes.

The laboratory report will provide a summary of the following:

a. How to easily understand the analytical results of the samples
b. General information on how to interpret the mold score
c. The types and quantities of mold spores found
d. Definitions and descriptions of each mold type found
e. Recommendations and approved guidelines for resolving mold problems

Location

Scottsdale, AZ 85260

  • DOJ Smart Search verified
  • License verified
  • Thumbtack reviewed

Reviews

Back to Top
  • 5/5 stars March 28, 2014

    No complaints. Scheduling staff contacted me quickly, set up appointment when I need it, inspector came on time, got inspection review when promised and price was comparable with other quotes.

  • 4/5 stars March 11, 2014

  • 5/5 stars October 9, 2012

    Tom is a wonderful inspector. He is extremely detail oriented and takes his time to do a superior inspection. He is very knowledgeable about construction. Tom always makes sure that his clients are well informed about the home and any potential issues.

  • 5/5 stars October 1, 2012

    I have been using Tom Rider for almost 5 years. His scope of expertise is far greater than a standard licensed inspector. When Tom write's up a report, I have no doubt that He has saved my Buyers from having unexpected House issues which in return makes us all look good.

  • 5/5 stars September 28, 2012

  • 5/5 stars September 26, 2012

    I have worked with Tom Rider and Affordable Inspections for about 6 years now. I continue to call on them to service my clients because they always do what they say they are going to do. That is rare today. They are always timely and professional. They have taken good care of me and my clients and I will continue to do business with them and give them referrals.

  • 5/5 stars September 26, 2012

    Affordable Home Inspections and Tom were amazing to work with. They were on time and very professional. They went through the home with me and pointed out all there findings and delivered the report the same day. I would highly recommend them for a first time home buyer or someone who buys and sells frequently.

  • 5/5 stars September 26, 2012

    I've had Tom Rider perform several home inspections for various clients. In each instance the work has been thorough and the results presented promptly in a very understandable format. Tom has been a pleasure to work with.

  • 5/5 stars September 26, 2012

    I've used Tom Rider/Affordable Home Inspections for numerous years. Not only is Tom punctual, friendly, and, he is extremely thorough. The ease of appointment setting is so very important to me and my clients. His office staff is courteous, friendly and effecient. I look forward to many more years of his excellent service.

Question and answer

Q. Describe the most common types of jobs you do for your clients.

A. Home Inspections and Mold Testing. We offer the most competitive pricing for home and mold testing services in the valley. We also offer the fastest turnaround time for getting the back to you, generally within 24 hours or less. All home inspection reports include color pictures and a complete summary of recommended repairs. We also certified in commercial inspections, from duplexes to multi-unit complexes starting at just $50.00 per unit. We also provide the termite inspection with your home inspection call. And, if you want those old acoustic ceilings tested for possible asbestos, we do that also for only $99.00

Q. Describe three recent jobs you've completed.

A. We conduct about 30 home inspections per week, servicing the entire Maricopa valley. We conduct Mold testing and inspecting daily and also serve the entire valley. Recently, we conducted mold sampling for a family that believed they had a mold problem. The mold test found that the mold spore levels were very high in the laundry area and we determined that a leak from a exterior wall fountain was responsible for the high mold spore counts. We conducted a mold inspection in a new home where a mold odor was noted. The odor was found to be due to a empty drain trap at the laundry room.

Q. What advice do you have for a customer looking to hire a provider like you?

A. First, make sure the service company you are hiring is properly licensed and certified, with many years working in the field that you are searching.
Second, ask as many questions as possible. The service provider, if properly qualified should be able to answer all of your questions.
Third, shop around and find out who is competitively priced. Pricing for this type of service is widely ranged.
lastly, select a provider that you feel comfortable with, knowing that person will be in your home, it's important to select a provider you are comfortable with.

Q. If you were a customer, what do you wish you knew about your trade? Any inside secrets to share?

A. Yes, years of experience in this business is crucial for providing the best service. A minimum of 10 years of full time experience is recommended.
Also, being certified in all phases of the trade industry is very important. The list of certificates is extensive,
Home, pool, HVAC and high efficiency, manufactured homes, hud homes, commercial and multi-unit, mold testing and inspections, radon and asbestos testing are also important.

Q. What questions should a consumer ask to hire the right service professional?

A. 1. Are you licensed and certified in all phases of this industry. 2. How long have you been doing this type of work. 3. Are you in good standing with the State BTR membership. 4. Have you ever had a complaint filed with the state BTR. 5. What does the service include. 6. Is the report sent the same day with color pictures and a summary report. 7. Can you send me a sample report to review. 8. How much time will the inspector have to spend reviewing the report with the buyer. 9. Does the company accept credit cards for inspection payments. 10. Are there any warranties provided with the services.

Q. What important information should buyers have thought through before seeking you out?

A. For home inspections, the buyers should learn as much as possible about the home they are buying, it's conditions, it's age, any prior repairs, etc They should also spend time reviewing all of the seller information provided. If it is a mold test or mold inspection, the buyer should contact as many providers as possible and ask as many questions as possible. The buyers should always know what they are paying for and what is what is provided as each provider may have specialties that the buyer may not need.

Q. Why does your work stand out from others who do what you do?

A. We are a company with multiple inspectors allowing us to reach all areas of the Phoenix valley. All of our Inspectors have a minimum of 10 plus years in the construction and inspection business with multiple inspection certifications. We provide same day reports for home and inspections and 2 day reports for mold test reports. All of our reports include pictures and summarize the findings in an easy to understand report.
We are all about service. It is of the utmost importance to provide the best overall service at the best price. We also provide an office manager who is able to schedule all of our customers needs 6 days a week, Monday through Saturday from 8:00am to 6:00pm.

Q. What do you like most about your job?

A. Home and mold inspections allows me the opportunity to new locations and clients each day. It also allows me the opportunity to view different homes and building situations daily. I enjoy the freedom of being able to schedule my job hours and locations. Meeting with buyers and home owners to review findings and making recommendations to improve their homes and surroundings is also an important part of this vocation. The confidence that I bring to the service from many years of experience is also rewarding.

Q. What questions do customers most commonly ask you? What's your answer?

A. In regards to mold testing, most customers have a concern about the physical effects of mold spores. They typically will ask if the presents of mold spores can or is effecting their health. Many customers contact us because their are having health problems and suspect that a mold problem exists and is responsible for their health problems. My answer will be determined by the inspection of the home, any red flag areas found concerning moisture or mold growth and the overall results of the mold air sample analysis. A careful review of the sample report will give the customer options as to best resolve any mold air quality problems.

Q. Do you have a favorite story from your work?

A. I recently conducted a mold inspection and air sample from a woman who suspected a mold problem. She had been living with an leak from an upstairs unit that had created a mold environment throughout her home. She was very sick from the air quality. Through a lack of ventilation and constant mold growth associated with the leak, the mold spore counts were tested at 50,000 or about 100 times the acceptable amount normally tested and found in homes without mold growth conditions. She was found to have serious damage done to her lungs.

Q. What do you wish customers knew about you or your profession?

A. That we take our profession very seriously. So little is know by most people, the effects of even the most common found molds when the condition is occurring at the interior of the home. Our job when conducting mold inspections and testing is to ensure that the home owner is not subjecting themselves to harmful conditions from interior mold growth. Very little is known and the standards of determining harmful conditions cannot always determine how the effects will be on an individual basis.

Q. How did you decide to get in your line of work?

A. I have been in the construction industry and owned a construction company for several years. At the time I decided to do this type of work, the industry was very new with little or no standards or licensing. Arizona enacted a law to require a state standard and licensing providing for protection for the buyers and the licensed inspectors. I also wanted to use the years of construction knowledge to me benefit. I have always enjoyed my decision to work in this industry.

Q. What is your greatest strength?

A. My greatest strength is a desire to provide the best mold and home inspection for every customer. I can only this with an extensive construction history. I am constantly looking for ways to improve my knowledge, through continuing education, specialty courses and annual workshops. I also believe that providing great customer service sets our company apart from others.

Get started »
Let us introduce you to pros.