Certified Building Inspections LLC

Middleburg, VA

Get up to five quotes from pros like Certified Building Inspections LLC within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Hire a Certified Master Inspector for your home inspection service. Certified Building Inspections LLC is a member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors. We are insured and licensed to perform home Inspections and energy auditing. Certified Building Inspections exceeds the industry standard for home inspections by utilizing Thermal Imaging Infrared scanning of the homes we inspect. Often times the thermal imager will reveal hidden air and water infiltration a "standard visual" inspection will miss. Hire the inspection company that has the technology and expertise, to perform and document your home inspection service. Call us now to schedule your Certified Inspection Service.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I like helping home buyers, make a determination if the house they are interested in buying, is in good condition. I like meeting new home owners, and using my thirty years of experience and expertise, in helping them decicide if a homes condition is suitable for them. I like helping them by producing the most comprehensive and detailed inspection report in the industry. The inspection report contains irrefutable photographic evidence of a homes defencies, and is often used as a negotiating tool to gain consessions from the seller.
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Middleburg, VA 20117

Background check

Complete

Years in business

19

Number of employees

1

Times hired on Thumbtack

66

Reviews

49 Reviews
  • Geronimo C. Apr 20, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is absolutely fantastic. He was worth every penny and some. I absolutely enjoyed walking around with him during the inspection. He explained everything...the how, the how to's and the whys. His recommendation for the builders to fix were used as a punch list and the builder appreciated his findings as well. I would absolutely recommend Ben and his services to anyone needing a home inspector. Thanks Ben
  • Ryan S. Apr 7, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Truly excellent in all aspects.
  • Vijay S. Apr 3, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Excellent!
    Ben was very professional. He came 10 minutes before the appointment time. He was patient and thorough.
  • Sima T. Mar 31, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review Updated
    Great work. On time arrival. High recommendation for other!!
  • Verified Review Original
    Great work. On time arrival. High recommendation for other!!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Thanks Sima, I hope we can work together again.

  • Leslie C. Mar 11, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very satisfied
    Very professional. Quick turn around. Everything promised.
  • Steve A. Mar 6, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Outstanding, knowledgeable, and personable inspector!
    Ben Clarke was outstanding in every respect and we recommend him without hesitation. He quickly let us know his availability and communicated well before, during, and after the inspection. He was prompt and exceedingly thorough. He took the time to educate us on various safety features and concerns, as well as how the various house systems operated. It was simply an enjoyable couple of hours going over every facet of our new house. Ben had an exhaustive report back to us within 24 hours and was willing to take calls to answer any additional questions we had. We couldn't be more satisfied.
  • Ivan O. Feb 21, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home Inspection
    Very professional and was on time for our appointment. Thank you
  • Kelly D. Feb 20, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    A step above the normal home inspection
    I had Certified Building inspections, LLC come out and do a full home inspection with the focus on the bathroom. I recently had my bathroom renovated and needed some feedback on what some of the underlying problems were. Ben was thorough and went a step above my expectations. He sent out an analysis of the home within 24 hours and included recommendations for local home services.
  • Edward S. Nov 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great experience
    Ben was very thorough and very informative. He made me feel very comfortable with the whole process. I felt complete confidence in his skills
  • Carol Y. Nov 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Excellent experience, recommend this inspector
    Ben was very thorough and checked everything room by room. He examined and explained the all the systems and circuits which truly helped me understand what I am buying within the condo. He was easy to work with and adjusted the start time to accommodate my schedule. He writes a thorough report and responds reliably to questions.
  • Paul D. Aug 30, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very good, great job and very thorough.
  • Mary T. Aug 29, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very thorough, professional, and also knowledgeable about all things house. He was very helpful in noting deficiencies in our new home for the builder to correct prior to our move in.
  • Praveen M. Aug 26, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did a great job. Found out a major issue with the bathroom exhaust duct work that could have been an easy oversight.
  • Charul S. Aug 16, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was early for the job. He was very informative and was ready to answer any questions. He encouraged us to shadow him and ask questions during the inspection. He provided a detail explanation on the spot of "major" issues and sent a full report within 24 hours as promised. His price was fair based on other estimates i received.
  • Anna O. Aug 9, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    great job!
  • Sonia L. Jul 27, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Thuy N. Jul 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great job
  • Addy N. Jul 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Shambhu C. Jul 21, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Good work. Exceeded my expectation!!
  • Lynne M. Jul 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Sometimes being the bearer of bad (inspection) news will get ya shot!

  • Debbie F. Jul 11, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very professional and report very thorough
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Thanks Debbie, it was my pleasure to work with another professional.

  • Youyong Z. Jul 3, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben arrived 15 minutes earlier than scheduled and was checking outside when we arrived. He checked EVERY spots in the house. The report is about 60 pages with tons of pictures, recommendations and even tips on how to maintain in the future. Will recommend him to my friends.
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Thanks Youyong, I'm glad that you appreciated my work!

  • Maria D. Jun 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Outstanding inspection. No stone was left unturned. Ben is knowledgeable, detailed, objective, and able to identify and prioritize all potential issues. Excellent report. I will hire him again.
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Susana, Thank you so much for the rave review. I am humbled.

  • Linda E. Jun 14, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben Clarke did an inspection of my home and even though I didn't like all the work I need to do, I was glad to have the thorough and precise repairs that need to be done. His report even came with pictures and recommendations.. I would highly recommend him.
  • Jeffrey J. Jun 10, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very professional and easy to work with. He was quick to respond and set up a date that worked for me. He also delivered a very detailed report of the home that enabled me to feel comfortable with its current state. I will be using Ben again in the future.
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Thank you Jeffrey, I'm pleased to be your preferred inspection firm, watching out for your best interest.

  • Gerald C. May 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home inspection for Real Estate purchase. Very thorough, professional and done on time. I received a full report within 24hrs of having the inspection done, which was critical in this particular transaction.
  • Tami C. May 13, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very prompt and professional. He explained everything and was extremely thorough. My realtor was very impressed and will be suggesting Ben for future clients. Very satisfied with Ben and his inspection.
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Thank you Tami I'm glad to be of service to you. I'm never too busy for one of your referrals!

  • Heather E. Apr 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did an outstanding inspection on a house I was planning to purchase. Based on his findings I am no longer going to purchase it. I highly recommend Ben. He is extremely thorough/detail oriented and his report was very comprehensive with excellent photos. Thank you Ben.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Heather, I am glad to be able to help you in determining if the house you wanted was a good value. I know you were disappointed in the real condition of the property, however you made a prudent decision. I look forward to inspecting another home for you in the near future.

  • Olu O. Apr 21, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    He is very passionate about the job and gave us a great education about our home
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    I love what I do! You had some great questions! I'm glad I could help you.

  • Hal M. Apr 16, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I wanted to give my home its 20-year checkup and settled on Benjamin Clarke of Certified Building Inspections, and I'm sure glad I did! Ben was able to quickly fit me into his schedule and come at a time convenient to me on a Saturday. He was friendly and personable, and I was very impressed with the extent of his knowledge gained from his years as both a contractor who worked on homes as well as an inspector. His work was thorough, and he found a couple eye-opening problems that I will need to have looked at soon. His report (51 pages!) included detailed notes on problems found and suggested corrections, as well as thermal photos of leaks and cold spots to address. I am quite impressed with the quality of his work, and the price was an excellent bargain! Thanks, Brian!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Hal, Thanks for selecting Certified Building Inspections!

  • Joe B. Apr 14, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is great!! Anyone should hire him without a second thought!! Even my realtor said the same!!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    I appreciate the feedback. I'm glad your agent was impressed too!

  • Harry E. Apr 13, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was fantastic. We had an inspection booked for 11:30 he was already inspecting the exterior when we arrived at 11:30. Ben was very helpful with things we didn't understand, he was patient and very knowledgeable. I would absolutely recommend CBI LLC to anyone needing a home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Harry, I appreciate your feedback! Good luck in your nice new home!

  • Juli H. Mar 2, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Job went well and Ben was very thorough!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Thanks Juli, Attention to detail is the most important factor in home inspections!

  • Michael F. Feb 20, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Michael was so happy with his Certified Inspection, he was speechless!

  • Kam J. Feb 9, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I reached out to Ben to complete a home inspection on a recently purchased property, and I would highly recommend his company. If I could give Ben 10 stars I would. He was flexible and accomdating with my schedule which I greatly appreciated. My new property is a multi family home and Ben took his time in each unit and thoroughly explained all inspection items. His wisdom was evident and it was a great learning experience for myself as a new home owner. Ben's prices were reasonable, and the final inspection report was even more comprehensive than I thought it would be. He exceeded my expectations and I will be using him for future inspections. Thank you again Ben. -Rod
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Rod, Thank you for the feedback. You were very inquisitive, I'm glad to be able to answer all your questions. You really kept me on my toes!

  • Gerald M. Feb 7, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did a great job going through the inspection and explaining everything
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Gerald, I'm glad I could be of service, especially explaining the inspection process and the condition of the homes structure, site, fixtures and appliances. At Certified Building Inspections LLC "We've got you covered"!

  • Mark M. Feb 6, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Clarke of BCI was responsive, competitively priced, knowledgeable, thorough and very professional. His reports were clear and concise describing accurately the conditions of the home. I would highly recommend BCI to anyone before they purchase a home or any home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Mark, I appreciate your feedback and glad that I could be of service to you.

  • Michele P. Feb 3, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough and professional.
  • Vinod B. Jan 31, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is professional and prompt. He gave a competitive quote and spent considerable amount of time inspecting various aspects of our the new home we are planning to buy. His report is detailed with pictures and specific recommendations.
    Benjamin C. Feb 4, 2016

    Thanks Vinod, It was a pleasure to work with you, providing the most detailed home inspection utilizing the most comprehensive reporting system available. Good luck in your nice "Certified" home!

  • Sima B. Nov 19, 2015
  • Doug K. Nov 12, 2015
    We have found Certified Building Inspection LLC in our experience in a large number of inspections to be always professional, through, providing excellent documentation that is concise, clear and understandable. In each case receiving praise from the home owner.
  • John H. Nov 7, 2015
    Excellent inspection and detailed report as a result of many years of experience inspecting residential homes. John H.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thank you John, experience is the best indicator of performance.

  • Ania C. Nov 7, 2015
    Ben preformed home inspections for my clients, he is very knowledgeable, and very detailed. He educates the clients going through the house, and will take the time if they need it. He does great job! I Highly recommend his services.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thank you Ania, I like to take my time with clients so they have a clear understanding on the condition of their home.

  • Anthony R. Nov 6, 2015
    Very thorough, not the cheapest.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thank you Anthony, It was my pleasure performing the most thorough home inspection service in the industry, ensuring the comfort and safety for you and your family.

  • Vince J. Nov 5, 2015
    Ben did an inspection on a home I was buying. His evaluation was extremely detailed and the cost was reasonable. He made himself available for follow up questions and clarification of his written evaluation. He was just a phone call away. I highly recommend his expert services. VEJ
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thank you Vince, I'm pleased that you appreciate the value in the home inspection service provided to you and your family.

  • Dianne B. Nov 4, 2015
    We could not of asked for a more through and knowledgeable home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thanks Dianne, Congratulations on your new home, all the best to you and Mr. "B"!

  • Martin D. Nov 4, 2015
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thanks Martin!

  • Jim R. Nov 4, 2015
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thanks Jim!

  • Greg S. Nov 3, 2015
    Certified Building Inspections is the best inspection service l have ever used. Benjamin Clarke is extremely detailed and thorough. He identifies problems and avoids the nonissues that other inspectors typically put in their reports. His reports are comprehensive. I highly recommend Certified Building Inspections.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    WOW! "Certified Building Inspections is the best inspection service I have ever used" Thanks Greg I'll continue to provide the best service in the industry.

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
I set an appointment with my client to meet at the subject property for the inspection. I review the scope of the inspection with my client and encourage them to accompany me on the inspection. As I go through the inspection I will explain to my clients the different components of their home, and how they work together to provide comfort and safety in the home. I will go over maintenance schedules to keep the home running smoothly and avoid costly repairs. I will bring to the attention of the client any items that are broken, unsafe or not performing as intended. I supply a computer generated written report, including pictures and explanations to the client within 24 hours. Find out how to prepare for a home inspection at my web site; CertifiedBuildingInspections.BIZ
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I have 35 years experience in the residential and commercial construction field. I am a Certified Master Inspector and member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors. I have completed literally thousands of hours of training in the past thirty years. I have passed the national home inspectors examination. I am required to complete 20 hours of continuing education every year as a member of INTERNACHI, and routinely complete over 200 annually.
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
Pricing is determined by the type of inspection service requested. The inspection service could be a complete Energy Star rated home energy Audit, a home inspection including thermal-scan inspection, testing for Radon, lead based paint or mold. The size, age and location of the house also factors in determining the inspection fee. We provide free estimates over the phone so give Benjamin a call so we can talk about it.
How did you get started doing this type of work?
I started working in the construction industry in 1980. I have experience in all the construction trades spanning 35 years. I decided to utilize my knowledge of the construction industry to help others, so in 1996 I joined FEMA as a Disaster Housing Inspector. I attended many certification classes and passed many examinations to attain my Inspector certification level. I deployed to areas effected by Hurricanes, Floods and Severe Storms. I performed inspections of the damage caused by the natural disasters on residential and commercial structures, assisting our fellow citizens in recovering, when disaster strikes. I started performing housing inspections in the Washington Metropolitan area in 2001. I continue to take advanced courses in building science to obtain my "master inspector" designation which I will achieve in the near future.
What types of customers have you worked with?
Usually my clients are purchasing a home as a primary residence or as investment property. I arrive a perform a 180 point home inspection, documenting in detail the condition I found with the Electrical, plumbing, hvac, and structural components of the house. I also perform pre-sale inspections for homeowners that want to find out the true condition of their home before it goes on the market. The pre-sale inspection avoids any surprises for the homeowner when the buyer hires their own inspector to find fault in the house, and then requests concessions from the seller.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I recently performed a thermal inspection of a basement wall area, that had a burst pipe in the wall. The leak was not evident to the naked eye, as the water was contained in the wall. The wall behind the leak was in the basement and underground, and the wall in front of the leak was tiled. The thermal imager identified the leak in time. My client utilized the home inspection report, requesting the repairs be completed before closing. The thermal-scan inspection saved my client over a thousand of dollars in repairs.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Hire a Certified Master Inspector like me. A member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors, licensed and insured LIKE US! Ask for references, and take a look at a sample home inspection report. The report will give you an idea of the inspectors experience in a qualitative way. Give the inspector a call and interview them. Get a feeling of "who they are", then go with your instincts.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
Is a home inspection necessary? The answer is YES! We are trained inspectors with keen observation skills sharpened by years of experience. We know when "something doesn't look quite right", requiring further investigation. Don't hire uncle Buck, or your friend to do your home inspection. They may be a contractor or "know construction" but that does not mean they are a qualified home inspector. Hire a professional, then you can rest assured that you will have all the information you need on the condition of your potential home to make a prudent decision. Armed with the home inspection report, you are in a strong position to negotiate concessions from the seller potentially saving you thousands of dollars! It pays to have a pro, looking out for your best interests. Don't cut corners skipping a home inspection, it is not worth the risk.