Certified Building Inspections LLC

Middleburg, VA

Get up to five quotes from pros like Certified Building Inspections LLC within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Hire a Certified Master Inspector for your home inspection service. Certified Building Inspections LLC is a member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors. We are insured and licensed to perform home Inspections and energy auditing. Certified Building Inspections exceeds the industry standard for home inspections by utilizing Thermal Imaging Infrared scanning of the homes we inspect. Often times the thermal imager will reveal hidden air and water infiltration a "standard visual" inspection will miss. Hire the inspection company that has the technology and expertise, to perform and document your home inspection service. Call us now to schedule your Certified Inspection Service.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I like helping home buyers, make a determination if the house they are interested in buying, is in good condition. I like meeting new home owners, and using my thirty years of experience and expertise, in helping them decicide if a homes condition is suitable for them. I like helping them by producing the most comprehensive and detailed inspection report in the industry. The inspection report contains irrefutable photographic evidence of a homes defencies, and is often used as a negotiating tool to gain consessions from the seller.
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Middleburg, VA 20117

Background check

Complete

Years in business

19

Number of employees

1

Times hired on Thumbtack

70

Reviews

55 Reviews
  • Ben D. Jul 22, 2017
    Very thorough and detail oriented. I consider myself pretty observant, but he looked at things I wouldn't have even considered. Was also very helpful and explained the whole process to me as I was going through the house with him and explained the type of things he was looking for.
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks Ben, It was my pleasure to perform your inspection service. I appreciate your attention during the inspection, your questions were intelligent and relevant to the Inspection service.

  • Thumbtack Customer Jul 22, 2017
    Ben has done many home inspections for me and my clients over the years and I am always pleased. He has one of the most thorough reports I've ever seen and takes the time to go over things with buyers.
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thank you (Anonymous Reviewer) I recognize you as a premire real estate agent in the area, one of the top producers. I appreciate your opinion, and look forward to providing you, and your clients with superior inspection service.

  • Nak C. Jul 18, 2017
    Radon Testing
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks Nak!

  • Alice M. Jul 16, 2017
    Ben was great. First he answered the phone, showed up on time and did an awesome job.
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks Alice!

  • John N. Jul 16, 2017
    Ben Clarke is a consummate professional. Thorough home knowledge and expertise with a teachers heart. I've had the privilege to work with him dozens of times and wholeheartedly endorse him. -John Nande Associate Broker
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thank you John, I look forward to working with you and your clients in the future.

  • Susan M. Jul 12, 2017
    Ben has done a fabulous time everytime I have had him inspect a property for me. He is on time, very professional, and easy to understand.
    Benjamin C. Jul 22, 2017

    Thank you Susan, it has been my pleasure to work with you and your clients.

  • C. R. Jul 10, 2017
    My clients and I have always been pleased and satisfied with Be 's home insepctions. He thoroughly goes through the property and gives a well written irelorts with pictures. He is honest and doesn't leave any known detail from the inspection out from being disclosed. He's also flexible with his time and destinations.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Thank you C.R. I appreciate your comments on my attention to detail and honesty. I look forward to providing superior inspection service for you, and your clients in the future.

  • Peter F. Jul 10, 2017
    Ben is excellent. He has become my go to guy for home inspections. His pricing is reasonable. He is always on time. His work is thorough. He brings value to my business. My clients have always felt comfortable with his inspections and reports. When I need an inspection done, he is my first call.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Thanks Peter, I appreciate the positive review, I strive to provide the best home inspection service available. i am never too busy for one of your referrals!

  • Jin K. Jul 2, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review Updated
    Very rude and tried to charge $150 for no show fee. Should disclosed ahead. Even with apologies, nasty messages. Scare to hire him. may done good job past, but not how I see it. And Threaten to kick me out of Thumbtack service, which he can't but again just nasty messages.
    Benjamin C. Jul 2, 2017

    It just goes to show, you can't please all the people all the time! Mr. Kim insisted on a 10:00 am SATURDAY appointment, which I confirmed with Mr. Kim. However, Mr. Kim decided he had better things to do during our scheduled appointment, and failed to show up. And failed to even have enough consideration to call and cancel the Inspection. Meanwhile, this Inspector had to decline other inspection services, because of this confirmed appointment. So in the end, not only did Mr. Inspector, lose out on Mr. Kim's inspection, Mr. Inspector lost business from customers who actually honor their commitments, and appreciate the value of other people's time. That's the first unfavorable review I have received, I'm not happy with it, but I should consider the source. An inconsiderate client. Now you know the "rest of the story".😂

  • Verified Review Original
    Very rude and tried to charge $150 for no show fee. Should disclosed ahead. Even with apologies, nasty messages. Scare to hire him. may done good job past, but not how I see it.
  • Dan H. Jul 2, 2017
    I hired Ben with Certified Building Inspections to complete an inspection and radon test for a home we are trying to purchase. He was extremely responsive to my initial inquiry and was able to complete the inspection to meet my timeline. His pricing was very competitive with other companies I contacted. Upon arrival at the property, he explained how he would complete the inspection (outside/in, top/bottom, left/right) and asked if I had any questions. I felt he was very thorough and explained what he was looking for in each room. He made sure to point out areas needing attention but also highlighted what was done correctly with the house construction. I had the inspection report including pictures the same day and a revised report with the radon results and thermal images when the test was complete. His service also includes follow-up calls if you have maintenance questions while you own the house. Overall, Ben is an extremely genuine person who stands behind his work and I would not hesitate to hire him again.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Thanks Dan, it was my pleasure to work for you. I wish you and your family all the best in the future.

  • Jeremy B. Jul 2, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is great! Very professional. Very Clear. On-Time. Reliable. Great Communication. He did a great job of pointing-out and explaining his observations during the home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Jul 3, 2017

    Thanks Jeremy, It was my pleasure to meet your schedule, performing the Inspection service on a Sunday afternoon. When time is of the essence, you can count on Certified Building Inspections to perform.

  • Jennifer M. Jul 1, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is fantastic. On time, friendly, explained literally everything. Report came in 24 hours as promised. There is no other choice, but Ben. Thanks Ben! A+ Service
    Benjamin C. Jul 1, 2017

    Thank you Jennifer, I appreciate the professional review of your Certified Home Inspection. Congratulations on your new home!

  • Francisco R. Jun 27, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very professional throughout the entire home inspection process; starting with a prompt response to my request for quotes, and all the way through delivery of the final home inspection report. His recommendations on how to take care of some of the issues he identifies in the report really set him apart from other inspectors I've worked with in recent years. 5-star service.
    Benjamin C. Jun 27, 2017

    Thank you Francisco. It was my pleasure to perform your Certified Home Inspection Service. Standing behind our inspection service with a home buy-back guarantee. Because at Certified Building Inspections, "We've got you covered".

  • Geronimo C. Apr 20, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is absolutely fantastic. He was worth every penny and some. I absolutely enjoyed walking around with him during the inspection. He explained everything...the how, the how to's and the whys. His recommendation for the builders to fix were used as a punch list and the builder appreciated his findings as well. I would absolutely recommend Ben and his services to anyone needing a home inspector. Thanks Ben
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Geronimo, I'm so glad that I could help you with your new home. As you know, even brand new homes have issues that may have been overlooked during the hustle and bustle of construction. Again, I'm very pleased to have helped you in identifying deficiencies in the home, for your builder to fix before your occupancy.

  • Ryan S. Apr 7, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Truly excellent in all aspects.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Thanks Ryan, truly a humbling review.

  • Vijay S. Apr 3, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Excellent!
    Ben was very professional. He came 10 minutes before the appointment time. He was patient and thorough.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Vijay, You are welcome! I take as much time as my customers need performing a thorough inspection, and answering all the questions they may have.

  • Sima T. Mar 31, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review Updated
    Great work. On time arrival. High recommendation for other!!
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Sima, Thank you for the nice review!

  • Verified Review Original
    Great work. On time arrival. High recommendation for other!!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Thanks Sima, I hope we can work together again.

  • Leslie C. Mar 11, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very satisfied
    Very professional. Quick turn around. Everything promised.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Leslie, Thanks for the kind review, I am the inspector that "keeps his promises"!

  • Steve A. Mar 6, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Outstanding, knowledgeable, and personable inspector!
    Ben Clarke was outstanding in every respect and we recommend him without hesitation. He quickly let us know his availability and communicated well before, during, and after the inspection. He was prompt and exceedingly thorough. He took the time to educate us on various safety features and concerns, as well as how the various house systems operated. It was simply an enjoyable couple of hours going over every facet of our new house. Ben had an exhaustive report back to us within 24 hours and was willing to take calls to answer any additional questions we had. We couldn't be more satisfied.
  • Ivan O. Feb 21, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home Inspection
    Very professional and was on time for our appointment. Thank you
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Ivan, Thank you and all the best to you in your new home.

  • Kelly D. Feb 20, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    A step above the normal home inspection
    I had Certified Building inspections, LLC come out and do a full home inspection with the focus on the bathroom. I recently had my bathroom renovated and needed some feedback on what some of the underlying problems were. Ben was thorough and went a step above my expectations. He sent out an analysis of the home within 24 hours and included recommendations for local home services.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Kelly, Thanks for the review. I always try to exceed the expectations of my clients.

  • Edward S. Nov 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great experience
    Ben was very thorough and very informative. He made me feel very comfortable with the whole process. I felt complete confidence in his skills
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Edward, Thanks for the review of my home inspection skills. I strive as a Certified Master Inspector, to stay at the forefront of continuing education, and construction science.

  • Carol Y. Nov 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Excellent experience, recommend this inspector
    Ben was very thorough and checked everything room by room. He examined and explained the all the systems and circuits which truly helped me understand what I am buying within the condo. He was easy to work with and adjusted the start time to accommodate my schedule. He writes a thorough report and responds reliably to questions.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Carol, Thank you for the review. I enjoyed meeting with you for your home inspection. I'm happy that you are pleased with my inspection service, meeting your schedule, and answering all of your questions about your new condo! I wish you all the best in the future.

  • Paul D. Aug 30, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very good, great job and very thorough.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Paul, Thanks for the review! I strive to do the best inspection service that I can! Thanks again.

  • Mary T. Aug 29, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very thorough, professional, and also knowledgeable about all things house. He was very helpful in noting deficiencies in our new home for the builder to correct prior to our move in.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Mary, It was my pleasure to go over everything in your new house, sometimes during the construction of a home, items can be easily overlooked. . I trust my report was of value when it came time to "show" the builder the items that you require to be addressed before you move in. Thanks again Mary, I wish you all the best in the future.

  • Praveen M. Aug 26, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did a great job. Found out a major issue with the bathroom exhaust duct work that could have been an easy oversight.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Praveen, Thank you! It is important that ventilation of the home be installed in a way to realize a safe, healthy, comfortable and efficient environment. I wish you all the best in the future.

  • Charul S. Aug 16, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was early for the job. He was very informative and was ready to answer any questions. He encouraged us to shadow him and ask questions during the inspection. He provided a detail explanation on the spot of "major" issues and sent a full report within 24 hours as promised. His price was fair based on other estimates i received.
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Charul, Thank you, I was glad that you stayed with me during the inspection. That is the best time to learn about the true condition of your home, as i give a "narrative" during the inspection service. Thank you

  • Anna O. Aug 9, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    great job!
  • Sonia L. Jul 27, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Some of my clients are speechless!

  • Thuy N. Jul 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great job
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Thanks Thuy!

  • Addy N. Jul 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Another speechless client!

  • Shambhu C. Jul 21, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Good work. Exceeded my expectation!!
    Benjamin C. Jul 10, 2017

    Shambhu, You were great to work with, you had excellent questions. I'm glad to have exceeded your expectations!

  • Lynne M. Jul 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Sometimes being the bearer of bad (inspection) news will get ya shot!

  • Debbie F. Jul 11, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very professional and report very thorough
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Thanks Debbie, it was my pleasure to work with another professional.

  • Youyong Z. Jul 3, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben arrived 15 minutes earlier than scheduled and was checking outside when we arrived. He checked EVERY spots in the house. The report is about 60 pages with tons of pictures, recommendations and even tips on how to maintain in the future. Will recommend him to my friends.
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Thanks Youyong, I'm glad that you appreciated my work!

  • Maria D. Jun 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Outstanding inspection. No stone was left unturned. Ben is knowledgeable, detailed, objective, and able to identify and prioritize all potential issues. Excellent report. I will hire him again.
    Benjamin C. Jul 18, 2016

    Susana, Thank you so much for the rave review. I am humbled.

  • Linda E. Jun 14, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben Clarke did an inspection of my home and even though I didn't like all the work I need to do, I was glad to have the thorough and precise repairs that need to be done. His report even came with pictures and recommendations.. I would highly recommend him.
  • Jeffrey J. Jun 10, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very professional and easy to work with. He was quick to respond and set up a date that worked for me. He also delivered a very detailed report of the home that enabled me to feel comfortable with its current state. I will be using Ben again in the future.
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Thank you Jeffrey, I'm pleased to be your preferred inspection firm, watching out for your best interest.

  • Gerald C. May 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home inspection for Real Estate purchase. Very thorough, professional and done on time. I received a full report within 24hrs of having the inspection done, which was critical in this particular transaction.
  • Tami C. May 13, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was very prompt and professional. He explained everything and was extremely thorough. My realtor was very impressed and will be suggesting Ben for future clients. Very satisfied with Ben and his inspection.
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Thank you Tami I'm glad to be of service to you. I'm never too busy for one of your referrals!

  • Heather E. Apr 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did an outstanding inspection on a house I was planning to purchase. Based on his findings I am no longer going to purchase it. I highly recommend Ben. He is extremely thorough/detail oriented and his report was very comprehensive with excellent photos. Thank you Ben.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Heather, I am glad to be able to help you in determining if the house you wanted was a good value. I know you were disappointed in the real condition of the property, however you made a prudent decision. I look forward to inspecting another home for you in the near future.

  • Olu O. Apr 21, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    He is very passionate about the job and gave us a great education about our home
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    I love what I do! You had some great questions! I'm glad I could help you.

  • Hal M. Apr 16, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I wanted to give my home its 20-year checkup and settled on Benjamin Clarke of Certified Building Inspections, and I'm sure glad I did! Ben was able to quickly fit me into his schedule and come at a time convenient to me on a Saturday. He was friendly and personable, and I was very impressed with the extent of his knowledge gained from his years as both a contractor who worked on homes as well as an inspector. His work was thorough, and he found a couple eye-opening problems that I will need to have looked at soon. His report (51 pages!) included detailed notes on problems found and suggested corrections, as well as thermal photos of leaks and cold spots to address. I am quite impressed with the quality of his work, and the price was an excellent bargain! Thanks, Brian!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Hal, Thanks for selecting Certified Building Inspections!

  • Joe B. Apr 14, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is great!! Anyone should hire him without a second thought!! Even my realtor said the same!!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    I appreciate the feedback. I'm glad your agent was impressed too!

  • Harry E. Apr 13, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben was fantastic. We had an inspection booked for 11:30 he was already inspecting the exterior when we arrived at 11:30. Ben was very helpful with things we didn't understand, he was patient and very knowledgeable. I would absolutely recommend CBI LLC to anyone needing a home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Harry, I appreciate your feedback! Good luck in your nice new home!

  • Juli H. Mar 2, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Job went well and Ben was very thorough!
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Thanks Juli, Attention to detail is the most important factor in home inspections!

  • Michael F. Feb 20, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Michael was so happy with his Certified Inspection, he was speechless!

  • Kam J. Feb 9, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I reached out to Ben to complete a home inspection on a recently purchased property, and I would highly recommend his company. If I could give Ben 10 stars I would. He was flexible and accomdating with my schedule which I greatly appreciated. My new property is a multi family home and Ben took his time in each unit and thoroughly explained all inspection items. His wisdom was evident and it was a great learning experience for myself as a new home owner. Ben's prices were reasonable, and the final inspection report was even more comprehensive than I thought it would be. He exceeded my expectations and I will be using him for future inspections. Thank you again Ben. -Rod
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Rod, Thank you for the feedback. You were very inquisitive, I'm glad to be able to answer all your questions. You really kept me on my toes!

  • Gerald M. Feb 7, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben did a great job going through the inspection and explaining everything
    Benjamin C. Jun 14, 2016

    Gerald, I'm glad I could be of service, especially explaining the inspection process and the condition of the homes structure, site, fixtures and appliances. At Certified Building Inspections LLC "We've got you covered"!

  • Mark M. Feb 6, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Clarke of BCI was responsive, competitively priced, knowledgeable, thorough and very professional. His reports were clear and concise describing accurately the conditions of the home. I would highly recommend BCI to anyone before they purchase a home or any home inspection.
    Benjamin C. Apr 29, 2016

    Mark, I appreciate your feedback and glad that I could be of service to you.

  • Michele P. Feb 3, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough and professional.
  • Vinod B. Jan 31, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ben is professional and prompt. He gave a competitive quote and spent considerable amount of time inspecting various aspects of our the new home we are planning to buy. His report is detailed with pictures and specific recommendations.
    Benjamin C. Feb 4, 2016

    Thanks Vinod, It was a pleasure to work with you, providing the most detailed home inspection utilizing the most comprehensive reporting system available. Good luck in your nice "Certified" home!

  • Sima B. Nov 19, 2015
  • Doug K. Nov 12, 2015
    We have found Certified Building Inspection LLC in our experience in a large number of inspections to be always professional, through, providing excellent documentation that is concise, clear and understandable. In each case receiving praise from the home owner.
  • John H. Nov 7, 2015
    Excellent inspection and detailed report as a result of many years of experience inspecting residential homes. John H.
    Benjamin C. Nov 7, 2015

    Thank you John, experience is the best indicator of performance.

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
I set an appointment with my client to meet at the subject property for the inspection. I review the scope of the inspection with my client and encourage them to accompany me on the inspection. As I go through the inspection I will explain to my clients the different components of their home, and how they work together to provide comfort and safety in the home. I will go over maintenance schedules to keep the home running smoothly and avoid costly repairs. I will bring to the attention of the client any items that are broken, unsafe or not performing as intended. I supply a computer generated written report, including pictures and explanations to the client within 24 hours. Find out how to prepare for a home inspection at my web site; CertifiedBuildingInspections.BIZ
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I have 35 years experience in the residential and commercial construction field. I am a Certified Master Inspector and member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors. I have completed literally thousands of hours of training in the past thirty years. I have passed the national home inspectors examination. I am required to complete 20 hours of continuing education every year as a member of INTERNACHI, and routinely complete over 200 annually.
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
Pricing is determined by the type of inspection service requested. The inspection service could be a complete Energy Star rated home energy Audit, a home inspection including thermal-scan inspection, testing for Radon, lead based paint or mold. The size, age and location of the house also factors in determining the inspection fee. We provide free estimates over the phone so give Benjamin a call so we can talk about it.
How did you get started doing this type of work?
I started working in the construction industry in 1980. I have experience in all the construction trades spanning 35 years. I decided to utilize my knowledge of the construction industry to help others, so in 1996 I joined FEMA as a Disaster Housing Inspector. I attended many certification classes and passed many examinations to attain my Inspector certification level. I deployed to areas effected by Hurricanes, Floods and Severe Storms. I performed inspections of the damage caused by the natural disasters on residential and commercial structures, assisting our fellow citizens in recovering, when disaster strikes. I started performing housing inspections in the Washington Metropolitan area in 2001. I continue to take advanced courses in building science to obtain my "master inspector" designation which I will achieve in the near future.
What types of customers have you worked with?
Usually my clients are purchasing a home as a primary residence or as investment property. I arrive a perform a 180 point home inspection, documenting in detail the condition I found with the Electrical, plumbing, hvac, and structural components of the house. I also perform pre-sale inspections for homeowners that want to find out the true condition of their home before it goes on the market. The pre-sale inspection avoids any surprises for the homeowner when the buyer hires their own inspector to find fault in the house, and then requests concessions from the seller.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I recently performed a thermal inspection of a basement wall area, that had a burst pipe in the wall. The leak was not evident to the naked eye, as the water was contained in the wall. The wall behind the leak was in the basement and underground, and the wall in front of the leak was tiled. The thermal imager identified the leak in time. My client utilized the home inspection report, requesting the repairs be completed before closing. The thermal-scan inspection saved my client over a thousand of dollars in repairs.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Hire a Certified Master Inspector like me. A member of the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors, licensed and insured LIKE US! Ask for references, and take a look at a sample home inspection report. The report will give you an idea of the inspectors experience in a qualitative way. Give the inspector a call and interview them. Get a feeling of "who they are", then go with your instincts.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
Is a home inspection necessary? The answer is YES! We are trained inspectors with keen observation skills sharpened by years of experience. We know when "something doesn't look quite right", requiring further investigation. Don't hire uncle Buck, or your friend to do your home inspection. They may be a contractor or "know construction" but that does not mean they are a qualified home inspector. Hire a professional, then you can rest assured that you will have all the information you need on the condition of your potential home to make a prudent decision. Armed with the home inspection report, you are in a strong position to negotiate concessions from the seller potentially saving you thousands of dollars! It pays to have a pro, looking out for your best interests. Don't cut corners skipping a home inspection, it is not worth the risk.