About this pro
11 hires on Thumbtack
Airbrush or traditional
Additional makeup services required
Michelle was absolutely wonderful! My entire family loved her and her work! She was honest and gave me a ton of skin/product advice!Aug 27, 2014Verified
I hired Michelle for prom hair and makeup. She was a very nice lady and she had some talent. However, the makeup put on my face was way too much for my liking. I took off layers of it so I could look like a human. She was almost an hour late to my actual appointment but she stayed later to finish the job. My hair was decent but I wouldn't recommend her. My curls were sloppy and I had to redo my entire style. Michelle has realistic prices, but when I watched my friends get their makeup done I wished I had got it done from another stylist.May 22, 2014VerifiedMichelle P.'s reply
Katy, I'm sorry that you were not happy with your prom hair and make up. Unfortunately, I do not know how I could have better satisfied your needs. You warned me that you liked very natural make up and we decided that some of the more dramatic examples you showed me were in fact too much for your tastes. I gave you a light airbrush coverage and asked you each step of the way whether you were satisfied with the level of coverage and color, allowing you to look in the mirror and give me feedback. Unfortunately, however, you did not express any concerns with me even when I emphasized that I'd rather you voice any complaints than be unhappy with the final product. You were also rather undecided as to what hair style you wanted at our trial and, although we practiced 3 different styles, you asked for for another different hair style on the actual day of your prom. Thus, without the benefit if a trial, it is hard to guarantee that a particular style will hold as desired, especially, with thin, baby fine hair like yours. In sum, I'm sad that you did not have a better experience and hope that you still enjoyed prom. You did share with me that this was your first experience with a professional make over and that you usually do not wear much make up. Thus, I'd encourage you going forward to be more verbal as to your likes and dislikes so that a different professional can better understand the look you want to create in the future. I wish I had been afforded that opportunity in working with you. On a personal note, I hope you did well on your PSATs and wish you the best going forward and am routing that you have a fun and successful senior year. I'm sure you'll be a great doctor one day :)
Michele was a pleasure to work with. Punctual, efficient and flexible.Jun 18, 2012VerifiedMichelle P.'s reply
Thank you for the positive review! It was a pleasure to work with you!
:/May 19, 2014VerifiedMichelle P.'s reply
Karina, I'm so sorry that I was not able to help you on the day of your sister's wedding. Part of my spine collapsed late the night before the ceremony. I was taken to hospital in an ambulance for emergency treatment. Once in the hospital, I was not allowed to use my cell phone because it can interfere with some of the the machines they use. Thus, I asked my mother to leave you a message that there was an emergency and that I was sending a trusted associate with whom I have a long term relationship to help so you would not be in the lurch on such an important day. I truly wish things could have been different as I very much enjoyed meeting with you and your family. I hope you can understand though I did everything I felt I could do that I felt was in your best interests given the circumstances. I'd be happy to offer you or your family a free make up lesson to make up for this unfortunate circumstance.
Michelle quickly responded to my specific service request for a makeup artist and promply scheduled an appountment. I was traveling in from out of town for a bikini fitness competition and needed stage makeup applied. I was told a spray application would be used for $65. Unfortunately the spray equipment did not work properly. Instead makeup was applied by hand. I felt the process took longer than necessary due to the artist taking time to clean the equipment duringy makeup session. Fortunately I had scheduled my session with plenty of time allotted. I had intended to use Michelles services the following day but ultimately decided not to. I have had professional makeup applied in the past for various events and was satisfied with the outcome. If ever in the same area I would certainly try the services of other artists.Nov 17, 2013VerifiedMichelle P.'s reply
Becky, I'm sorry that you were not fully satisfied with my services. My airbrush spray gun unexpectedly stopped working. In fact, it had to be sent to the manufacturer for repair the next day. At the time, though, I did my best to try to fix it quickly and switched to a cream formula as soon as I was assured that you were comfortable with this change. In hopes of providing you with superior service and compensating for this glitch, I also spent quite a bit of additional time with you at no extra charge to fix various parts of your spray tan although this is not a service I normally provide. I hope you realized when you entered the competition that we did we everything possible to make you feel beautiful inside and out. I certainly hope that you placed well and are proud of your accomplishment.
Photos and Videos
- What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?I'm a Mac Cosmetics Pro Member & take MAC Master classes. I'm also a continuing masters level student at the Robert Jones Beauty Academy. Robert Jones offers tutorials and advice on the latest looks and trends. In addition, I subscribe to numerous make up artistry pubications ranging from Make Up Artist Magazine (geared towards professionals) to consumer guides like Allure. I also achieved pro membership status at many top cosmetic lines such as Bobbi Brown, Stila, and Smashbox. I receive regular updates from these companies. Last, I'm a member of Cosmetic Executive Women and Beauty Insider West. Both organizations allow me to exchange ideas and information with other professionals.