Detailed Home Inspections

Jefferson, GA

Get up to five quotes from pros like Detailed Home Inspections within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Most really don't do what I do. They have limited background in the trades. They took a two week AHIT course and think they are ready to inspect homes? I'm not in a big hurry to get there and leave. I don't have an afternoon inspection so if your home keeps me there an extra two hours, so what. Your inspection is the only thing on my mind that day. How does my work stand out from others? Ask for some actual reports of mine and compare them to actual reports of other inspectors. You will immediately see who takes the extra time and effort of putting in all those time-consuming details.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

Photographing deficiencies that are so ridiculous and substandard that I laugh so hard I start to cry. I also like the fact that my job gets me out in the beautiful sunshine (and rain, and sleet and icy cold.........) I like trying to identify the snake that is coiled up and ready to strike. I like to tease the Black Widow spiders under the water meter covers. I like trying to force my body into a tight place just to see if it's going to fit. Most of all, I like telling some realtors, "Yes, I'm really gonna put that in the report."
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Jefferson, GA 30549

Years in business

19

Number of employees

1

Times hired on Thumbtack

86

Reviews

57 Reviews
  • PeiChin T. Aug 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Timothy T. Aug 17, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve was very thorough in his inspection, went over everything and even told me how to fix things myself if the seller refused. Will refer him to close friends and family wherever possible!
  • Kris J. Apr 10, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Looking for a good home inspector that you can rely on to get the job done right? Well, you've found him. Steve communicates well and stays in touch. He came out to the house I am planning on purchasing and crawled through the crawl space,climbed on the roof, shimmied through the attic ,and looked up and down the chimney. Not only did he find and take pictures of all issues he found, he recommended ways to fix them,and who to call to get quotes on fixing issues. He kept me informed and enjoys having company while he inspects . He really is looking out for the home buyer. You need Steve for peace of mind and to protect you from hidden future costly repairs. He's the real deal.
  • Tariq A. Mar 17, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Steven Udelle did excellent job for my new home. He is very knowledgeable, experienced and kind. He did not put any price for his job. It is understandable. Because all houses are not same size. I am going to mention few excellent jobs from many what I observed. 1. He is very detail oriented & knowledgeable in his job. 2. He explains detail what need to be explain. 3. If he found anything wrong, he explain that in report and also gives some web link related to problem. So you can understand better. 4. My new house has some basement problem. He gave me couple of companies name who are expert on that mater. He also help me to connect one of the company to inspect the problem. It was free. 5. He arranged free termite inspection for me. It gave me peace of mind. 6. He send me report on the same day and did not miss anything so far I remembered. 7. My new house has a storage building out side. It was not a part of his work, but he did it free. Thanks. Few things I want to mention for new home buyers: 1. If your future house has basement, make sure basement walls need to be cleared front of it before inspection. It is not the inspectors job to clear front of wall & inspect. 2. You need to fill out "Certificate of Compliance" form by the inspector. This form needs to submit when you are applying for water service (DeKalb County). You can have this form from water department. What I wrote about Mr. Steven, it was my personal observation while he was inspecting my new house. I am very happy with his work & also recommend him for any house inspection. I hope he will able to keep his excellent work for his future customer. I am not a good writer, but I try my best. Thanks.
  • Marcus J. Feb 4, 2016
    Pre Listing Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Brett S. Jan 21, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Couldn't have asked for a better home inspection experience. Steve keeps things interesting the entire time, and the report he gave us proved critical for us re-negotiating our contract. This was absolutely worth the time and money, and I can't recommend DHI enough.
  • Xuhan S. Jan 19, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I'm happy with Steve's inspection service. His report is very clear and thorough. He found things during the inspection that I had missed when I initially saw the home. I would highly recommend his company to anyone who is in the process of making a real estate purchase.
  • Darren P. Dec 6, 2015
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Was a pleasure working with Steven. He was thorough with the inspection and his end report provided. Will highly recommend him and will use him in the near future.
  • Kenny G. Dec 3, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The experience was great, Steven did a great job
  • Raj S. Nov 20, 2015
    My experience working with Steven was outstanding. If you are buying house and looking for Home Inspector than look no further. Don't compare prices, this is not the area you want to save money. Unlike other inspector, he will spend as much time as it needed to make sure he finds everything about the house. Just request him to share with you inspection report that he prepares after inspection and you will know the difference. Also, he was house builder before he started this business so he knows in and out about the construction. I requested him to accompany me for final walk thru and he gladly said yes with small amount of additional fees. I am glad I took him with me for final walk through before closing. Also, don't be afraid to put everything that he suggests in his inspection report on your amendment. Seller of the house may not like it but it doesn't hurt just asking seller to fix everything that Steven recommends in his report. I am self employed and bargain hunter, I shop all over the internet before I pick any service provider. I am very happy with my decision of selected his company as my home inspector. Also, look at the credentials and affiliations he has in the industry. There are many home inspector on Thumbtack with good reviews but they don't have any solid industry certification like Steven.
  • Nancy K. Nov 13, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    very detailed and informative feel like we now know what to expect in terms of maitenance for our new home
  • Rei R. Nov 13, 2015
    Steven is very knowledgeable and does a great job at inspecting even the smallest of items.
  • Tapiwa W. Oct 17, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven is one of the good guys. We spoke for about 30 minutes days before the job. He didn't hold back in offering tips and advice. He even gave me advice on some home issues not related to the inspection. At the inspection, he found key issues that I would have definitely missed. I ended canceling the contract for the house and probably saved a lot of time, money, and headaches. The report was very detailed and gave me insight while I continue to search for a property. I will probably use Steven again and suggest you do the same.
  • Trish P. Oct 14, 2015
    Steven was extremely thorough and very detailed. Excellent service at an adorable price. I've already started referring him to friends.
  • Carlos C. Oct 14, 2015
    I highly recommend Steven with Detailed Home Inspections. He was onetime and took care of my home inspection uncovering issues that were safety concerns among other issues that would have otherwise gone unnoticed. Great job Steven!
  • Lyndsay S. Oct 7, 2015
    Steve recently inspected a house I am intending to purchase and he and his work were outstanding. Steve is not only extremely knowledgeable, but delightfully personable. He walked me through every aspect of the inspection to make sure I was informed and comfortable and the report supplied was extremely detailed. 5 stars!
  • Joycelyn S. Oct 6, 2015
    Steven was great. He is a very detailed inspector . He shared with me and showed me everything I needed to know pertaining to the home. I would highly recommend him to anyone that wants a detailed professional inspection. Five Thumps Up!!
  • Alex T. Oct 6, 2015
    The most thorough home inspection report I have ever seen. The inspector took time to go over every item with me. He had the inspection report sent to my inbox less than 24 hours after I had ordered the inspection. If you want low quality cheap home inspections this is not the place. If you want reasonably priced and the most bang for your buck, this is the place for you.
  • Michele C. Sep 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great guy. Super nice and professional.
  • Jennifer F. Sep 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    We have used Steve four times and he has always done a great job! He is knowledgeable, thorough, and pleasant to work with! I have recommended Steve to my in laws when they moved from Michigan to Georgia. I would recommend Steve to anyone who is looking for a home inspection and great experience through this process.
  • Jennifer B. Sep 14, 2015
    Steven was amazing and well worth the money. We called him to see if he would inspect a home we were interested in buying only to find out that he was located on the East side of Atlanta and we are on the West side:( (Hours apart) But that didn't stop Steven from offering his services and doing a job that he obviously loves & enjoys. Steven is extremely knowledgeable and he explains the inspection in great detail. We would highly recommend Steven for a Quality Detailed home Inspection! Thanks again Steven, we appreciate your dedication.
  • Lashawnda M. Sep 13, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve did a superb job. No question was left unanswered or detail over looked. I would use him again or recommend him to anyone who needs his services.
  • Savannah G. Sep 8, 2015
    Steven was wonderful, very detailed and informative. I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing a home inspection done.
  • Desiree D. Sep 2, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve is very personable and shows great passion/care. Very detailed and precise. I will use him again and refer him without reservation.
  • Margarita A. Aug 23, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Amazing job done by Steven. He inspected the house very well and informed us of lots of thing we wouldn't have pointed out. Rate 5 stars or more if it was possible. Great guy. Excellent job well done.
  • Tricia F. Aug 11, 2015
    Steven is a highly qualified, thorough, and ethical home inspector. He is honest with his inspections and will save you lots of money and unnecessary headaches that can come with buying a home. Steven took time to explain important aspects of the inspection process to me and was patient with answering all of my questions. I cannot recommend Steven highly enough. I will refer him to anyone looking for an outstanding home inspector. Steven, I cannot thank you enough for being so thorough.
  • Anahis C. Aug 10, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven came to do the inspection on short notice, delivered the report in few hours just when he said we would and during the inspection he gave reassurance and showed knowledge to my clients. He was very detailed and friendly. I wI'll recommend him from now. Thanks Steven, excelente job !
  • Shannie H. Jun 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven was attentive, through, skilled and fair. We will be using him for future inspections and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to others!
  • Tifanee T. Jun 6, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven arrived early and did a very through job with my home inspection. He is very detail oriented and you can tell that he's absolutely an expert in his field with the amount of extensive knowledge he shows through his work. He gave invaluable advice and really helped me feel comfortable with the purchase of my home. I strongly and highly recommend you to hire him!
  • Nat G. May 31, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Extremely detailed, quick to respond, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his work. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs something done short notice (like I did), but also wants a fair price and a detailed report.
  • Joshua J. May 25, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve was amazing...the level of detail on the inspection was very deep, h got to the house before i did and started. When i got there he already had pictures of issues and such. Very good communication skills as well. He didnt just say what needed to be fixed but also detailed how to fix. Also his service comes with a 90 day home warranty to cover you from inspection till close if something changes . I will definitely be using him again when i buy my next home!!!!! A+++
  • Tarodrick H. May 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven Udelle was professional and very knowledgeable. He arrived early and had already completed the inspection of the roof. He pointed out several issues that could be problematic and expensive if left unattended. Steven also pointed out the positives in the house. Lastly, Steven provided a detailed inspection report the next day. I would recommend Steven Udelle to any concerned home buyer.
  • Yuan W. May 5, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Satish K. Apr 13, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The great reviews for Steven Udelle do complete justice to his work. He did the home inspection for us on March 28th. He came to the site before time and took a good 4+ hours to finish the inspection. Steven is very knowledgeable and let us accompany him through the inspection. He did a thorough inspection and pointed out both the bad and the good things in the house. He also explained everything in layman terms. The next morning, he sent the detailed inspection report with pictures, which helped us to negotiate with the seller. Thank you Steven for all your help! We really appreciate your work and expertise.
  • Vitaliy P. Mar 19, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Thanks for very detailed inspection report.
  • Tiffany M. Mar 11, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven completed my home inspection yesterday on March 10. He did an awesome job, he is very detailed, explains everything, he pointed out and showed me things I needed to know during the inspection and he is very pleasant to speak with and work with. I got my detailed report with pictures, just as he said I would the same day that evening. Thank you Steven I really appreciate your service and help.
  • Jonathan D. Feb 27, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very professional, knowledgeable, and thorough. Would definitely recommend
  • Gordon C. Feb 11, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Worth to spend a bit extra. i use house inspection every month from various States, Steven would takes his time and explain everything. You should be happy to use his service
  • Sejal S. Jan 28, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven is a great person to work with. He will make sure buyer is well aware of current condition of the home. Very knowledgeable & gives plenty of time explaining all questions. We had a great experience with him. Would highly recommend for your home inspection needs.
  • Jade S. Jan 11, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven provided an extremely detailed inspection and report for us to provide to our builder. He was also very informative as we walked through the property. He provided vital information of which we were previously unaware. His inspection was invaluable!
  • Kurtis S. Jan 11, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven Udelle did a great inspection -- he's super detailed, but takes the time to walk the buyer through each of his findings. For first time homeowners, that guidance really helps. He was professional, friendly, and followed up with me shortly after to verify the seller resolved some of the major issues identified. Would definitely work with Steve again!
  • Walt T. Dec 26, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough. Extremely knowledgeable. Definitely has the buyers interest in mind. Would absolutely recommend.
  • Mike R. Dec 19, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    An outstanding home inspection. We would whole-heartily recommend Steve for a home inspection. He went over everything that could be reviewed and inspected and provide one of the best reports that I've seen!!!
  • Mark L. Dec 18, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    He did a GREAT job; very detail oriented. My wife and I are first time buyers and he made us feel very comfortable in approaching the issues that the house had. He has a great attitude and let's you know that he is on your side and ONLY looking out for your best interests.
  • John D. Nov 25, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven went above and beyond with his thoroughness and the detail he provided.
  • Matt T. Oct 20, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven was super knowledgeable and provided a very detailed and thorough inspection. Would definitely recommend Steven.
  • Lestra S. Oct 3, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven Udell did a wonderful job inspecting my new home.I would recommend him to anyone.Report was available within hours very thorough.
  • Ingrid J. Sep 19, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The services rendered are very thorough. I was not able to attend the home inspection, but Steven kept me informed from the beginning to the end. I would recommend Detailed Home Inspections because this only protects you when making a decision on buying a specific home, it can give you some negotiating power during a contract due diligence period, and it helps you to make the most informed decisions. With the level of detail Steven gives you, your investment can be protected for years to come.
  • Latron R. Aug 13, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve was an awesome inspector! He explains things thoroughly and walk you through each step of the process! He takes his time with you which is great. Steve also includes a termite inspection letter with each inspection as stated. He does exactly what he says he will. I would definitely recommend him!
  • Vanessa C. Aug 1, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I'm not always one to leave a review, but Steve was absolutely amazing, and it would be wrong of me not to. The reviews not only help Steve, but you and I as potential clients as well. Thank all of you previous reviewers – I trusted you guys and got an fantastic, and yes, as you've all said, VERY DETAILED inspector. Thank you for the great service, Steve! My husband and I are purchasing our first home, and after reading through all of the reviews, decided that Steven was the man for the job! He was so PLEASANT and jovial, even on the phone, giving us great advice and tips before we even hired him. We got there right on time for our appointment, and he was already there waiting for us at the house; PUNCTUAL, just like you guys said! Unlike many other inspectors who'd rather just be left alone, Steve was happy to have us tag along so that we could actually learn important details about our soon-to-be home. In fact, he specifically said "I personally like the company. How do you hold class with no pupils?". That was awesome for us, because we wanted to have a first-hand look and learn some new things too. It was great to have the option, and we received a lot of INVALUABLE INFORMATION that homeowners really need to know. If you've never been in your own attic - shame on you! We literally walked around with a pen and notepad. He explained everything! I'm a strong believer in following your heart and passion. It's justice to yourself as well as others, because you can always tell when people love what they do – they excel and are literally a walking encyclopedia for their field. That's Steve! Full of passion and pride in his work....and good energy. He kept us laughing and was so easy to be around. We loved that we were literally his ONLY PRIORITY for the day. He didn't rush us at all, or rush through the inspection to get anywhere. I think we went past 3 hours, and he didn't care! Instead, he took his time, and took lots of photographic evidence to back up everything on the report. He had us laughing a lot, and we felt so comfortable with him...like those people you feel you've known for a long time. We got the FULLY DETAILED REPORT a few hours later. We totally love Steve and would definitely recommend/hire him in the future. I could go on...but I'll stop here. Steve you're just AWESOME, and your service was well WORTH THE PRICE! Thank you Steve. We absolutely love you! – Matt & Vanessa.
  • Michelle S. May 18, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Udelle was very good. . If not for him we would have bought a house and had no idea of the underlying problems. I would definitely recommend him to anyone.
  • Marsha P. May 15, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Well where do I start? put it this way, his company name suits the job, as he is 'extremely' detailed and who doesn't want that when making the biggest purchase of one's life? It was a very informative couple of hours.
  • Brad R. May 12, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steven examined the home we were looking at in a very detailed, thorough, and complete manor. No one gives as detailed report as Steven.
  • Molly S. May 7, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Explained everything. Did a great job!! Would recommend to anyone!
  • Aleta R. Mar 5, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very detailed and knowledgable. His recommendations and expertise were greatly appreciated.
  • Debra N. Feb 3, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve was very professional and knowledgeable. His willingness to be flexible and accommodate my conflicting schedule resulted in a satisfying result for all parties. Thank you Steve for an exceptional job well done! I highly recommend him.
  • Mike A. Dec 15, 2013
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Steve did an incredible job. His attention to detail was way beyond what I was expecting. I intend to recommend him to anyone I know who needs home inspection services.

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
I let them know what to expect of me, my inspection and sharing actual reports so that they know up front the experience and service value they will be receiving.
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
Diet training!!! Have you ever tried squirming through a tight crawlspace when you're ten pounds overweight?
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
At DHI we strive to avoid complications, but sometimes a typo or two will pop up. This can occur when an iPad thinks it knows everything when it doesn't. It really doesn't get complicated. You give me the address, I give you the inspection fee. I will not put the scare into you of how you MUST have a mold, radon, etc test. Those are basically cash cows for home inspectors (at the expense of the customer).
How did you get started doing this type of work?
The employees in my former construction business were starting to give me high blood pressure with occasional fits, accompanied by unpleasant outbursts. I saw a great opportunity for the chance to let them know that I was taking a permanent vacation from them.
What types of customers have you worked with?
Very, very nice ones, very nice ones and just nice ones.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I'm proud of the tiny 600sqft condo just as I would be the Taj Mahal. Big? Small? I'm proud of them all!
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Ask a lot of questions and don't hire your Realtor-recommended inspector without talking with Steven from Detailed Home Inspections first. If your realtor says something such as, "I don't know anything about that company, tell them, "You don't need to know anything about him other than he's an ASHI A.C.I. inspector and he is looking out for MY best interests! He says that he is out to crush my dreams and blow your deal!"
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
That if we home inspectors could catch 70 percent of the problems with the house for the short time we're there, we're doing good. Personally, I like to raise the target to at least 89.6 percent. That's why I stay longer on inspections and stay up later at night to finish my reports.