GS & TJ Services, Inc.

Chicago, IL

Get up to five quotes from pros like GS & TJ Services, Inc. within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

I am a trained certified energy auditor and a thermal imager to find issues hidden behind walls. Free membership in a Home Owners Network for a year...$199 value. You can ask experts in network anything you want and send pictures of anything you are not sure of. This benefit can be extended past the first year with a follow up 1 year inspection. Some reports are highly technical, confusing, with no pictures. My reports are so user friendly that one of my clients told me that after reading my report, she knew her house better than she knew some of her friends!

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I have been in the construction field for over 20 years. When I decided to be a home inspector, I enjoyed the privilege of helping new homeowners to learn about their prospective new home. They come away much more informed about the value of the buy, and also how to maintain their home with information they would never have known. All of my clients thank me for helping them out on their buy, ability to renegotiate fix and repair or price, and increasing their knowledge about homes in general. I enjoy helping.

Location

Chicago, IL 60628

Background check

Complete

Years in business

8

Number of employees

4

Times hired on Thumbtack

36

Reviews

16 Reviews
  • Curtis W. May 5, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The home inspection went well Leon is a very nice guy and does his work great I'm very satisfied.
  • Charles X. Apr 20, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    A very personable and thorough husband and wife team. Excellent job with the inspection and detailed report! Will definitely use them again.
  • Michael S. Sep 15, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Did a great job!
  • Melissa R. Jul 30, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Andre Z. Jul 3, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I recommend GS & TJ Services to clients. He scheduled inspection of my new condo in a timely manner. His report on inspection is a reliable reference. Thank you Leon :)
  • Kareena M. Jun 1, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Leon and his staff arrived early and were professional and friendly. They were very thorough and took time to explain mechanisms and processes to my husband. We had a report within 24 hours that included pictures and recommendations. They were 50-100 less than what I was quoted from the inspectors recommended by my realtor.
  • David H. May 25, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    This was my first time using Thumbtack and because of the fantastic experience I had with Leon, I will be back! He was such a friendly guy to work with and extremely thorough in his work. We initially received a document that outlined the inspection. A few days after received a few follow up emails regarding home warranties and then another with quick links to change our address, updating IRS information and a movers guide...So helpful! Go with Leon!
  • Patrick B. Apr 20, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Thomas U. Mar 15, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Did a good job with the inspection that included a good informational , detailed written report...
  • James P. Feb 23, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    He was very pleasant person to deal with. He took his time to explain everything and was very much to the point and I would definitely do business with him again and recommend him to anyone
  • Tim F. Jan 23, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Experience was great. Leon was there on time. Was very thorough and answered all my questions.
  • John M. Jan 19, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Inspection was done in a timely manner and a very reasonable cost. Report was detailed and gave me a great look at wthe home that I am trying to buy.
  • Ramsey W. Nov 17, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Extremely thorough. This is exactly what I needed. Even though the home I'm purchasing was totally renovated, Leon Slack was not deterred by the cosmetic appeal of the home and found several items that needed attention. It took a little more than 3 hours, but it was well worth it. I would certainly recommend this company and Mr. Slack to my friends and family.
  • Carolina B. Mar 24, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Everyone was very efficient and thorough. I was very satisfied with the follow through, follow up and the report at the end. Everyone that was involved in the home inspection was very friendly and answers any questions I had. Would definitely recommend their services!
  • Melissa H. Oct 20, 2013
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Leon was a wealth of knowledge, thorough, personable, professional, had great attention to detail, and pointed out things, explaining them along the way. As first-time home buyers, he made things very easy to understand and we appreciate his expertise in all areas of our new home. His honesty and integrity are beyond reproach! Thank you so much for looking out for our best interest! The Harner's
  • Jalen H. Apr 8, 2013
    He was very prompt and courteous. What I particularly liked was how easy it was to talk to Leon and ask him questions. Anything that I did not understand, Leon was more than willing to answer and explain.

Q&A

What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
Yes, continuing education is required in the inspector's association I belong to. This keeps us abreast of the latest industry updates. We have added training for the extra benefit of thermal imaging for our customers.
How did you get started doing this type of work?
I worked hard for a construction organization that built commercial size buildings for over 20 years. I became very familiar with the construction of buildings. I decided to use this avenue to share my knowledge with new home buyers for their benefit.
What types of customers have you worked with?
We are also commercial inspectors. Companies trust our services in making decisions for the profitable businesses. We bring that trust, thorough and excellant services to our home inspections. We have inspected up to 86,000 sq ft commercial establishments. Our Full Inspections include: thermal imaging, roof, vents, flashings and trim; gutters and downspouts; skylight, chimney and other roof penetrations; decks, stoops, porches, walkways and railings; eaves, soffit and fascia; grading and drainage; basement, foundation and crawlspace; water penetration and foundation movement; heating systems; cooling systems; main water shut-off valves; water heating system; interior plumbing fixtures and faucets; drainage sump pumps with accessible floats; electrical service line and meter box; main disconnect and service amperage; electrical panels, breakers and fuses; grounding and bonding; GFCIs and AFCIs; fireplace damper door and hearth; insulation and ventilation; garage doors, safety sensors and openers; and much more.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I recently inspected a house for this lovely couple. It was a renovated house with everything new. New kitchen appliances, new countertop, new utilities, including a new gas furnace and new gas water heater. However, since I am not only a home inspector but an educated home energy auditor, I found that the furnace and water heater, although new, was incorrectly installed. It was resulting in spilling a LOT of carbon monoxide poison gas into the basement. It was a finished basement with a bedroom included. Someone sleeping down there could possibly not woke up, but died in his/her sleep. The gas is oderless but toxic. One of the many times that my serves have possibly saved lives. Real estate agents that refer me also use me for their own inspections, because they say that I am the most thorough inspector they have come across in their careers. I just completed an inspection of one of the agents that refer me a couple of days ago. It is good to have a reputation of being the most thorough.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Many inspectors do a thorough job of inspecting your home. Look for inspectors who are associated with a national inspection association. They have the backup of the association to provide better service. Also, look for inspectors who add value to their inspection. Some inspectors added benefit values can actually match the inspection fee, as if inspection is free to you.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
I inspect new construction and newly rehabbed houses all the time, and always find faults where the rehabbers missed important issues, such as slow leaks in attic, covered by new drywall or paint in house. Some issues are even more serious, like improperly installed heating systems, resulting in carbon monoxide poisoning. I find such things all the time. Sometimes clients feel that new rehabs mean no issues...completely wrong.