Discovery Home Inspection Service, LLC

Fayetteville, NC

Get up to five quotes from pros like Discovery Home Inspection Service, LLC within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your business stand out?

Discovery Home Inspection Service specializes in the pre-purchase evaluation of single and multi-family residential properties in and around the Fayetteville area. In business since 2013, we strive to provide the home buyer with a level of service that matches the significance of the purchase they are about to make -- in all probability, the single largest investment of their lives. In order to avoid conflict of interest, we do not perform any repair work on the homes we inspect, so you know that you are getting an unbiased report. Contact us today for more information! History Established in 2013. Discovery Home Inspection Service, LLC started in 2013 growing out of the construction fields. Discovery Home Inspection Goal is to continue to provide Quality & Affordable Home Inspections ALL backed by our "We'll Buy Back Your Home Guarantee". Chris's qualifications along with having completed over a 1000's of home inspections within the Fayetteville and surrounding communities are as follows, graduate of The Home Inspection Training Center (THITC), Holds a Valid North Carolina Home Inspection License # 3361, is a graduate of Ashworth University Heating and Air-conditioning Technician program, is certified by the North Carolina State Board of Refrigeration Examiners as a Universal Technician Certification # NC-310-2943, is a certified Pool and Spa Inspection Technician certified by the American Pool and Spa Association, is a certified mold and radon inspector through the International Association of Certified Indoor Air Consultants (IAC2). Additionally, but unrelated Chris is a proud Graduate from Campbell University in Buies Creek, North Carolina and Holds a Bachelor's of Science Degree from Campbell University's college of Arts and Science. Chris is also a retire combat veteran having retired in June 2006 after 20 years.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I like meeting my clients and assisting them in their home buying experience.
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Fayetteville, NC 28314

Background check

Complete

Years in business

5

Number of employees

1

Times hired on Thumbtack

28

Reviews

11 Reviews
  • Cole C. May 3, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Chris was very thorough and professional. I look forward to working with him again.
  • Brian K. Oct 2, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Look no further
    Chris was very professional. He was very thorough and walked me through everything he was doing. Very easy to talk to and he gave me his opinion on different routes for repairs because of his background as a construction contractor. His report is easy to read and in depth. He was also able to come out on short notice, will definitely be back in the future if I need another inspection.
  • Mariah B. Sep 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Women Beware
    I give two stars based solely on the interaction my realtor and I had with Discovery Home Inspection, not the actual inspection as it has been canceled and rescheduled with another inspector. Although prompt to respond and set up and appointment, Chris was very rude on multiple occasions to my realtor and I both(we are both female). After setting a date and time he then changed that date claiming he had given it to someone else since he had only heard from my realtor once and didn't save her contact info. Rather than writing me on Thumbtack as he had been, he gave my appointment away and acted as though he had never told me the original date in the first place(which I have emails stating otherwise). I feel as a young female purchasing my first home, that this "professional" challenged my intellect and prejudged my knowledge of the process, leaving me with no choice but to choose another inspector. He refused to accept payment at closing, which I am told is a very common practice, and had made it clear that I was to cut him a check at the inspection which he would then refund me the money for after he was paid at closing. Twice the payment for an inspection that I was unsure would be done correctly was not an option for me. Maybe if I was a male rather than female I would have been given the proper respect and everything would have gone great. I would not recommend this inspector to any women with circumstances similar to mine. Belittling female clients and poor scheduling seems to be the name of the game with this inspector.
    Chris B. Sep 26, 2016

    Discovery Home Inspection Service is sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our scheduling process. However, in our defense, your appointment was rescheduled to later within the week because your realtor’s assistant and you failed to provide accurate information as requested for us to properly schedule the inspection in a timely manner. The information I requested from your realtor was never sent to me via e-mail and the information requested from you was received, but unfortunately there were several errors which I spoke to you about, your realtor’s phone number was incorrect and the inspection address was also incorrect. This delayed us in coordinating with your realtor to schedule the home inspection. While payment at closing is a standard practice throughout the real estate field this practice is at the discretion of the Home Inspection Company and is not a given. Discovery Home Inspection Service does accept payment at closing using the two standard methods, and one of those methods was offered to your realtor, where you pay for the inspection and you are refunded the cost of the inspection when you close. The results of scheduling this home inspection had nothing to do with whether or not the client was a female, we have done 1000s of inspections for female clients and work daily with numerous professional realtor’s that are also female with fantastic results. In closing, we again apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your home purchase and sincerely wish you the best of luck with your purchase. Chris Owner Discovery Home Inspection Service, LLC

  • Kaktrale A. Aug 28, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The job has not yet been completed, but the process was great. I found the home inspector I wanted.
  • CYNTHIA E. Aug 10, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Cynthia G. Mar 24, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Chris was on time, available for questions, and had the report back the next day as promised.
  • John G. Mar 7, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very Professional and was able to accommodate my needs.
  • Trisha G. Jan 17, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Chris was very helpful and made our experience so easy!!!! He was very detailed and ensured we understood the inspection and what he found!!!! I highly recommend him for your home inspection!
  • Silnettra B. Jan 14, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great job on doing our home inspection
  • Printice G. Sep 6, 2014
    If you need a Home Inspection in Fayetteville or surrounding counties, Please call Chris @ Discovery Home Inspecting Services. He was very knowledgeable and has excellent customer services skills. I called him after a job was done and he still gave me advice about my home inspection. He is one of the lowest Certified Home Inspector in Fayetteville. A+++
  • Johnny G. Jul 17, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very professional veteran, that not only inspected my home thoroughly, but also explained how to improve my homes efficiency.

Q&A

What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
North Carolina Home Inspectors are required to complete 16 hours on continuing education each year in order to renew their license.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
I wish customers and real estate professionals understood that even the smallest of items list in a home inspection report can and do have larger implications that can effect the home long after the purchase.