Foulke Family Services

Mays Landing, NJ

Get up to five quotes from pros like Foulke Family Services within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Our customers like our service because we have one standard price for most things that we do. The other stuff like painting requires different price varances but, for the most part everything else is one price and reasonable.. Their will be others in the future that will be added as people start to suggest certain things they may want done and we will look into it. We do more than what the average cleaning company will do. When we say full deep clean you get a full deep clean nothing is ever missed. If it does get missed we do come back out and get it done. We also make sure with other projects that we do are also of high quality work. We usually don't give an estimated time to get the job done because we don't know how long a job will take due to issues, mother nature, or emergencies on either side of us or the customer/client.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I love just about everything about my job when I can not do the job my husband does it or my older college son does it. The most part is the hours that are set.. I work from 9am til 9pm but, most times I don't work all 12 hours those hours are set so it is flexible for both my self and my customers which is a win win situation...Most companies don't offer that not only that but, we are scheduled 7 days a week except on holidays and our vacation times which our customers are notified prior to the event...
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Mays Landing, NJ 08330

Background check

Complete

Years in business

7

Number of employees

6

Times hired on Thumbtack

59

Reviews

19 Reviews
  • Bhanu M. Feb 21, 2016
    Flooring
    Verified Review
    They did not meet their time estimate for my flooring project at all. Missed by more than a week and not friendly in the phone. The work Finally got done however but not a very pleasant experience.
    Replied to Bhanu M. - Mar 4, 2016

    This project was done after the floor he wanted was ordered and brought in...He knew the flooring he wanted would have to be special ordered in for the room he was doing...We got it in on a Friday and had the old floor tore out and new put in all in one day on Saturday once his special order came in... Note to all other clients if you are going to have a special order come in for something it will always never meet project timing unless ordered way in advanced before your project....This was done on a I need it done basis and we can not help how long a special order takes to come in...If you need something done asap you can't get a special order unless you are willing to wait for it to come in... We were always polite on the phone when we spoke to this client till he decided to get a little loud with us...of course we try to be as polite as possible with upset people but, sometimes it does become to much when the client wants to be disrespectful at some point so we try to accommodate as professional as we can.... Sorry you had a bad experience with us but, we normally don't have these kind of issues...

  • Sara M. Dec 31, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    It started off with great communication, but after job supposedly started I couldn't get honest answers, only to find out that they hadn't completed any of the work (which was verified by a third party). Too much time was wasted and the job had to be reassigned to another contractor. I was really disappointed and they made no effort to make the situation right. Not a good way to go on your first job with a new client.
    Replied to Sara M. - Feb 5, 2016

    I did applogize for all the miss communication at that time...During the time we did do the work but, my husbands phone was acting up and lost photos for the jobs that we did do...We do have issues some times but, not always unfortunately it happened at this time...We are a very busy company and we work with many different banks and residential clients sometimes things happen and its out of our control...But, with this one the one job was done but, the photos some how erased it self from his phone and he never backed them up like he should have...Now he fixed it to where everything that is taken gets backed up so this mess don't happen again...And we did complete another job for this company it just was done a little later than it should have been done..But, it was completed....Sorry it was not as quick at that time but, we fixed all the issues we had with our schedules and phones and everything else we had causing us issues during the time we took on this client so we should not ever have another issues like this again...Unless its weather related or what have you that would cause us to get to a job late or not get certain info needed to complete the job...But, for the most part we are on the jobs sent to us with in 3 days of getting them and getting the scheduled and doing the job depending on the type of job that it is...

  • Lee A. Nov 2, 2015
    Move-in or Move-out Cleaning
    Verified Review
    They made helpful suggestions and were very dependable. We were able to tackle a huge job in a very short time. I could trust them even while I had to be away.
    Replied to Lee A. - Nov 3, 2015

    Thank you for your review..And if you ever need us again in the future please let us know.. Thank you again, Hope all is well and your trip was a safe one..

  • Sthitaprajna S. Aug 3, 2015
    Carpet Cleaning
    Verified Review
  • Roman C. Jul 5, 2015
    Lawn Mowing and Trimming
    Verified Review
    The Foulke family provide great service at an affordable price. They gave fantastic communication so as to meet our family's schedule during a busy holiday and all of our guests remarked at how great our house looked. Highly recommend and will continue to do business.
  • Jack L. Jun 20, 2015
    Lawn Mowing and Trimming
    Verified Review
    Slow but steady, got the job done right.
  • Meredith D. Feb 27, 2015
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    Before cleaning, Candy came to my house and discussed, in detail, what needed to be done and gave me a quote. This was for a move-out cleaning, so the house was empty when she and her crew went in to clean. They used Simple Green and Orange Glow Wood Cleaner on the cabinets, leaving them cleaner than when we first rented the house. Candy also took care of some small repairs to woodwork that my cat had taken a liking to. The repair was seamless. The floors were all steam cleaned and windows sparkled. Blinds, light fixtures, everything was attended to. Between the competence, professionalism and excellent customer service offered by Foulke Family Services, I'd recommend them to anyone.
  • Amy D. Jul 19, 2014
    Painting
    Verified Review
  • Kim B. Aug 5, 2013
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    I was very pleased with the Job Foulke Family Services did. They were friendly, knowledgeable and dependable. I will use them again.
  • Ronald S. Jun 5, 2013
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    They are good people to have available for cleaning and also handy man repairs. I would recommend them.
  • Moha A. Mar 13, 2013
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
  • Tito O. Feb 3, 2013
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    Candy did a wonderful job cleaning our home! We get a monthly partial deep-clean (everything but shampooing the carpets and scrubbing the walls). She and her coworker were very thorough and reasonable with special requests specific to our household. Would definitely hire her again.
    Replied to Tito O. - Feb 5, 2013

    Thank you so much for your post. We look forward to seeing you on the 15th of Feb. If you need anything else please let me know and we will see what we can do. Thank you again, Foulke Family Services

  • Beth F. Jan 31, 2013
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    They were on time and did a very thorough job. I know they had their work cut out for them and I appreciate how well they did and for a great price! I would recommend them for sure.
    Replied to Beth F. - Jan 31, 2013

    Thank you again for having us come and help you with your needs. Look forward to in the future if you need us again. Please don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Gail S. Jan 9, 2013
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    Candy came with her mother and was supposed to do a deep cleaning of my small 800 square foot home. She arrived at 10:00am and at 2:30pm I came back home and they were still working. The bathroom floor was soaked and I got a cloth to wipe it up and the cloth was filthy. So they just left dirty water on my floor. The kitchen floor was supposed to have been washed and I pointed out no less than 6 areas with food spills and spots that they did not remove and I wiped them clean easily with a cloth. They left black marks on my carpeted stairs on 5 stairs and the carpeting is cut down below the other carpet. Now I have to look at this until I replace my carpeting. She didn't even clean my dresser mirror or on top of my TV. There were food stains that were easily removed by me on our phone table. She didn't clean the bathroom floor or the shower and then argued with me that she did clean the shower. She did come back today and it took her 2 hrs. to clean my shower. She did not clean the front of the vanity in the bathroom. This was the worse cleaning job I've ever seen. I returned at 5:00 pm and after 7 hrs. they still weren't done and the carpets were wet so we had to eat out. I was welcomed by the rug I have in our dining room at our back door that hadn't even been vacuumed or shaken out. I had to shake it out and then grab the vacuum and vacuum underneath. This rug was so dirty. It had not been shaken out in more than 2 weeks. Also the same at the front door. The rug inside the house not even vacuumed or shaken out and dirt all underneath. In my living room next to my sofa was never even vacuumed. I could go on and on. Do not use this company, they do not know how to clean. I had someone clean my home for over a year and never had to speak with her once, other than to offer her lunch and bonuses for a great job.
    Replied to Gail S. - Jan 13, 2013

    I have shown up at Gail's house on time. We did clean the home. This is our first poor rating we have ever got. We cleaned everyroom. In the home. I myself vacuumed every room in the house. There were some spots that were missed on the vacuumed offered to come back to to get the areas that were missed. My mother was the one that cleaned the kitchen & bathrooms in the home. I dusted everything in the house in every room. The top of the TV in the room was so high up that I could not reach it. So I did not get the very top of the TV. We shampooed the carpets all the carpets come out great except the 5 stairs. When they were vacuumed there was nothing on them and were fine. When we shampooed. There must of been something down deep in the carpet that seemed like carpenter's glue that come through the carpet when it got wet. It was sticky and tacky and matted the floor in those spots. I offered to come back and redo the rugs on the stairs to get them out. I even offered to have my husband who does all home repairs and flooring for people to look at it and tell them what it is. Gail was very hesitate on it. Some people can not be pleased sometimes. We have excellent reviews across the board. Sometimes things are missed but we are willing to come back and do it since we were paid to do it. The bath tub was done today when I returned to do the bathroom. Needless to say I will be only taking my mother on other jobs she can handle and bringing my other crew that I have to take care of the things that are needed. Though this is a family business this was the first time ever in 4 years in business that I have ever had some one be so repolesive. I understand a persons home is there safe haven and love to have it cleaned. I agree somethings were missed and again apologized to come out do to another worker not doing there job or what was asked of her. My reviews prove it all against this one miss hap. I still offer the opportunity to come out and fix the carpet as well regardless of all the arguing that was going on. Even offered to still come out to do her bi weekly cleaning with another lady who is more experienced in cleaning than my mother. We even redone the kitchen floors. We usually will use a mop to the floor we do change the water after the first intial mopping and remop again with clean water to be sure that all dirty water is up off the floor. She came in when we were just waiting to get that stuff done again. She was also advised from the beginning that it would take a majarity of the day to get this done for her cause she did advise me that it has been several months that she has not had this home thoroughly cleaned. She is a type of person that will follow you around with a white glove type of person to make sure all dirt is up. Now she does have a cat. One cat may not be that messy but, they do have hair that does fall out all the time. I should know cause I have 2 cats and 2 dogs and I also take care of many homes with animals. You will never get rid of all the animal hair even after you do a deep clean. She also only paid for a partial deep clean not a full deep clean and we did your carpet shampooing for free when it would have been another $100 just to do that. Instead I understood her delema and charged her $100 for the cleaning of the partial cleaning of the home. Again some things were missed I was willing to come back the next day to get all things that were missed and fix the problems. I seen some areas that she had pointed out that were not vacuumed. My mother missed those areas. Again we do have 5 people that work for me and we have never had any issues with any one else. So I am retracking my first post on this lady and advising any one who would like to work for her. Would have issues with her. Again. Any one else would have taken me on my offer to redo the issues at hand and fix any damages right at that moment. We did have one person with an issue like that and we now have that person as a perminent cleint cause we stick to our word. If we make a mistake we do come back out and fix any problems. As for the bathroom I did come back and fix that problem but, went to do the rest of the bathroom and she rushed me out of the house after the tub was cleaned. So if her cabinet was not cleaned it was due to her not giving me the time to get to it. As for here stand as well on her phone table that was cleaned and there were no food marks on that table when I cleaned it. What I should have done as I was cleaning like I usually do in most homes is take pictures of everything that was cleaned and done to show proof that it was done. That was my mistake to forget my camera that day. Again we are still willing to come out and fix the carpet that we offered to see what it really is that came up when we shampooed it. She mentioned she had her carpets shampooed and that this did not happen. I do want to mention that those 5 stairs the carpet was not put in properly as well. It was bubbled and not tacked down to the backing of the other stairs. I had consulted with my husband about this carpet and he said to me who ever put the carpet in either used carpenters glue or dripped something on the floor before the carpet was put in and the carpets on the stairs may have never been shampooed cause this would have shown up the first time it was shampooed. So who ever shampooed the carpets before only shampooed the rooms and not the stairs and we were willing to fix someone elses mistake. I would not work for this lady on a regular basis after this. But, will come back to fix any issues cause that is what we do keep to our word to fix problems that come up. Our ratings are very high and this is the first time we ever had a person feel this way. Be very cautious when you decide to work with this lady. Thank you.

  • Kate S. Dec 19, 2012
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    I'm really torn about this review -- on the one hand, the Foulkes did an AMAZING job on my apartment. Looked better than when I had moved in! They really did a number on the bathroom, and the service was well worth the price (really, really good work). On the other hand, they were almost an hour late and didn't call to say that they would be running behind. I contracted with them to save myself some time, and their lateness meant a wasted hour on my part. I'd use them again, but wouldn't re-arrange my schedule to do so.
    Replied to Kate S. - Jan 13, 2013

    Thank you so much. Sorry for the lateness. When I realized I was running behind I usually don't use the phone while driving. Again sorry for being late we are usually always on time for every job. We would surely love to work with you again when the time comes and will be on time this next time. Thank you so much.

  • Robert W. Dec 10, 2012
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    We contracted with Candy Foulke to clean a 1880's rental property that had been completely painted, including the floors, two years previously. Then 10 months of the filthiest tenants you could imagine. We had contracted with the painters again before hiring Candy. The painter's job was much easier than expected because the Foulkes were able to remove the dirt much more successfully than anyone had expected. The floors and stairways had what appeared to be ground in filth. After the cleaning they almost didn't need to be repainted. We were very pleased the Foulkes. They did what they said they would, better than expected, on schedule, for a reasonable price considering the work involved.
    Replied to Robert W. - Dec 10, 2012

    Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We look forward to working with you in the future. Don't hesitate to contact us for anything you need done. Thank you again.

  • Wendelyn A. Jun 4, 2012
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    Foulke Family Services ROCKS!! I've been working full time while going to grad school for the last couple of years and dealing with health issues to boot so my place was not just a mess but a clutter mess. Candy and her family made no judgements, cleaned and helped me organize and get rid of stuff all at once. They are thourough and friendly and I would recommend them to anyone.
    Replied to Wendelyn A. - Jan 13, 2013

    Thank you so much. If you need anything else or help with anything else please feel free to contact me. We will be right out to help you out again. Hope everything is going well with you and hope you had a great holiday.

  • Vicki L. May 14, 2012
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    The Foulke family provided excellent service. The arrived on time, they were friendly yet professional. They did all the work they were contracted to do. They showed respect for me and my home. I have scheduled a date for another cleaning. I would recommend them to family and friends.
    Replied to Vicki L. - May 14, 2012

    Thank you so much for having us over to help you with your home. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you again, Candy Foulke Foulke Family Services

  • Pam W. Apr 7, 2012
    House Cleaning (One Time)
    Verified Review
    We were very pleased with the services that Foulke provided us. They did a very thorough job with cleaning our walls and baseboards. There was a lot of clutter and they tried to help with organizing as best as they could considering all of the stuff that was around.
    Replied to Pam W. - Apr 28, 2012

    Thank you for your review. We look forward to working with you again in the near future.. Candy Foulke

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
We normally will meet in person to get a feel of what they need or want.. We don't do quotes on Alot of our stuff with out meeting with people first... We have done that once before to find there was more work involved than what was discussed by email... So we never really quote anything with out seeing it in person Now.. The only thing we do quote is our weekly bi weekly and monthly regular cleaning.. Any type of deep partial spring winter etc. Type cleaning must be looked at to know what we are dealing with..
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
These are the charges we have for what we do. Prices are subjected to changes. To save money on your electric bill as explained above go to: We require a deposit with bigger jobs; deposit amount varies do to what job is being done. We will ask for the deposit 2 days prior to doing the job to have the check or cresit card bwing used to clear to gwt the supplies needed for the job, unless you pay cash than day before we state or same day we start the project. Need something else done that is not listed below feel free to contact us and we will do what we can to accommodate your situation. Thank you. We are a family owned business and have been in business since 2009. We started out cleaning change overs and have many happy customers. We will have anywhere from two to four people doing one job depending on the load. We are also a one stop shop get everything you need and more with us. We deal in Hoarding homes as well. Can help ease the problem and help you with the clean up. We have several ways you can pay for this project..depending on the severity will depend on how much we can do with your situation at hand. We also do Home Decor as well. Whole Home Cleaning in NJ,DE, PA: • Windows inside only outside is extra • Sweeping and mopping floors and walls • Dusting • Wiping down kitchen counters/tables • Cleaning inside/outside of cabinets • Wiping down moldings in windows and baseboards • Cleaning of tubs, sinks, and toilets • sweeping down cobwebs, Wiping down walls, • Cleaning of all bedrooms dressers, floors, and closet doors. Senior Citizens/Disabled get 15% off so your price. All PA prices included in price already for mileage.(gas & Tolls) Senior/Disabled 15% off the original price. Extras: • Stoves not self cleaning • Defrost Freezers outside windows Will be $25 dollars more added to the price of cleaning home. We charge $5 extra for: Laundry Dishes Bedmaking Pricing varies do to the size of the yard and what you want done. • Mowing yard • Edging • Blowing leaves and grass Pricing varies do to the size of the yard and what you want done. Light landscaping • Planting flowers • Mulching • Pulling weeds • Seeding if needed • Decorative décor • And extras Power washing: • Homes • Sidewalks • Driveways • Decks Pricing depends on the size call for free estimate. Rug shampooing: Pricing depends on the size of the rooms and how many rooms that is needed to be cleaned. Pool Cleaning: Depends on what is needed if something needs to be replaced before cleaning, price will determine the nature of the pool. Horse Farm Clean-Up in NJ & PA: Cleaning Barn area Mowing & weeding eating around paddock area Call for Pricing? Will paint fencing & Paint Barn area Not afraid of horses standard Bred/thorough breds! Painting Projects: • Interior/exterior of home • Rooms • Decor • Decks • And more Call for estimate. Small home repairs: • Basic Electrical • Basic Plumbing • Walls needing to be replaced or patched • And more Call for estimates Change Overs/Vacation Homes Prices coincide with normal home cleaning prices Real Estate homes: • Tax owned • Foreclosures • Abandoned Pricing varies do to what you need done. Construction Clean-ups • New homes • Renovation homes • Construction sites • Etc. Prices varies do to what is involved in the clean up. We do small to medium remodeling jobs. We do any room in the house that you need to do a complete remodel..pricing varies to what you want done plus labor..that goes for all projects.. All prices are subject to change.
How did you get started doing this type of work?
We started doing this type of work when I was in a car accident and was limited severely in what I could do with spinal damage.. So I picked up cleaning since I was always in the health field I figured this is how I can help people with all kinds of health issues with helping to keep any home they live in safe from girls, allergies, etc.. I do more cleaning foe more cancer patients than I have before.. Which to me is very rewarding.. It keeps me busy and I usually will always have helpers.. Very rarely am I ever by myself..
What types of customers have you worked with?
Most common work we do right now is a lot of power washing, lawn care, regular maintenance cleaning of homes, and painting of interior homes at this moment..We have ventured into more extensive work.. Though we still do everything listed about we Now lift homes to meet vararences to homes that are raised and build homes from the ground up as well as complete remodels... Which we have e done several of these jobs already this past you of 2015..we also doubled our work since 2009 starting with 2015....scheduling has been a little tough but nothing from the norm. We will be doing another remodel in the next 2 to 3 week in 2016 adding almost a complete house to a house down the shore.. It will take approximately 80 to 100 days to complete..
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Make sure that the provider is going to do what they say they are going to do and not try and change prices on you unless it is something necessary to do..Like if there is an investigation in your home you want to be sure that you will be prepared to pay more than the original price that is offered. So you want to be aware of things as well. If it is rental home you want to be sure that the person is going to report back to you every week after or before the cleaning so you know what is going on with your rental..You don't want to rent to the same people that wrecked your home from previous years. Make sure there is no hidden charges or taxes you did not know about. Make sure they make clear of all charges being given. But, be aware that every year prices do go up from previous years cleaning prices so that is mostly standard but, it should not go no more than $20 to about $40 dollars more from previous years as well. I have seen some shady things go on with a lot of these cleaning services and it is not good. So just be aware of everything and make sure that there is nothing hiding in small print that is not explained in detail if you do a contract with the person.