Elementary Home Inspections

Burt, NY

Get up to five quotes from pros like Elementary Home Inspections within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

We use tools to supply more information so we can help you make a more informed decission. We use a gas detector, circuit analyzer, moisture meter, infared camera and our newest tool, a drone to inspect roofs regardless of height and size.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

Helping our clients learn about there future home.

Location

Burt, NY 14028

Background check

Complete

Years in business

16

Times hired on Thumbtack

49

Reviews

33 Reviews
  • Darlene D. May 12, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was great. Extremely knowledgeable, and professional. His inspection was very detailed. I would def. use him again and highly recommend him. Thanks Al!
  • Brian K. May 5, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al did a great job with the inspection by providing lots of details and checking out as much of the home as possible. He was also very helpful in following up on additional questions that came about after the initial inspection.
  • Veronica L. Apr 25, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was awesome! Very informative and patient. He went through and explained everything to me. I am a nervous first time home buyer and he gave me the comfort and ease of knowing that I was receiving accurate and honest information. Im glad that I found him and I definitely recommend to give him a call if you are looking for a very thorough and professional inspector.
  • Keith L. Mar 15, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    True Professional
    I called Al to do our new home inspection. He came out to do it on the worst weather day of the year. He was very personable and professional and we are very satisfied with his thorough assessment and professional advice. I would recommend him to anyone purchasing a new home or assessing a current home.
  • Jessie N. Mar 8, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home Inspection
    It went well. Al was excellent.
  • Gabriele C. Mar 4, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great inspection.
    Very nice report. Eased my mind and provided tips to update/repair.
  • Andy S. Oct 5, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Easily worth 3x what he quotes. Fantastic, thorough job and answered all of our questions. Highest recommendation.
  • Sam H. Aug 27, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al did a great job for me and my home inspection. He was very thorough with his explanations and I learned a lot about my future home. I will recommend him to anyone who has a home inspection in the future.
  • Rich P. Aug 7, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Robert R. Jul 15, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al and his son did an outstanding job. They answered all my questions and also gave me some ideas on items I had concerns about. The report was precise and direct.
  • Erik R. Jun 6, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great inspector. Happily finished half the job after we were unable to finish the inspection (tenant left one apt. locked). Excellent communication and speed of delivery (of inspection report). Would highly recommend.
  • James S. May 22, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    it was a very welcome feeling having elementary home inspection Al Hasting do my inspection.he made me feel he was looking out for my best interest, couldnt ask for any better.thanks again AL
  • Julie S. May 14, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Ed taught is a lot about our new home and we are so happy we chose Elementary Home Inspections.
  • Toni N. Apr 22, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Christopher W. Dec 30, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    My experience with Elementary Home Inspections was very positive. This was my first time having a home inspected and I wanted to make sure the house was given a thorough inspection. Al was very informative as he went about his inspection talking to me through the whole process, he took his time as we went through the home an it didn't seem rushed.In addition, Al was very open about sharing his knowledge an opinion on different aspects of the house. I would feel comfortable recommending his service to my family and friends.
  • John B. Nov 30, 2015
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Home inspection. We were expecting a more "high tech" analysis. However, he was very thorough & comprehensive in his investigation.
  • Teresa P. Nov 9, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The home inspector was very knowledgeable. We were very impressed with his sharing of best economical way to fix different things now and in the future. I would highly recommend him to anyone and especially if you are investing in an older home. Mr.Hastings is a treasure house of knowledge about local older homes.
  • Felipe S. Nov 6, 2015
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was fantastic! As a first-time home buyer, with no prior experience about this process and zero knowledge about houses, particularly old homes in Upstate NY, I can genuinely say that Al was looking out for my best interests. It felt as if I had a family member walking me through my own home-to-be and telling me the pros and cons. He took his time starting from the basement up, allowed me to ask all sorts of questions, and even invited me to touch/see for myself. Someone stated it before, but I will reiterate, Al is not an alarmist and is very down to earth. I, as well as my Realtor, would highly recommend Elementary Home Inspections to anyone looking for the peace of mind that comes with a knowledgeable and careful inspector. Al provided me advice related to all my concerns and did a great job at explaining everything in detail. Thank you!
  • Dustin W. Oct 23, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was everything you want in a home inspector. He was thorough, he explained everything, intelligently answered questions and made smart recommendations. I've been through a few home inspections and with Al I felt like I was getting the answers that I needed to go ahead with the purchase. I know what issues I will need to deal with now, a year from now and 5 years further. He catered to my specific concerns but still gave me a well rounded overview of everything I missed as well. Highly recommended, he may not be the cheapest option but when considering a purchase this large the difference is well worth it!
  • Anthony M. Oct 2, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Well done! Efficient & thoroughly performed
  • Jessica S. Sep 11, 2015
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    My husband and I hired Elementary Home Inspection to do our new home inspection and we give him our recommendation. Al was prompt in his responses to our questions, punctual and professional at our appointment, thorough in his inspection, and we received the full report electronically the next morning. I liked that he sent us both a complete report on all of his findings as well as a summarized version, which is handy, and easy to understand. Al is not an "alarmist" as some home inspectors can be- he didn't look for any 'problems' that weren't there, but instead gave us an honest overview of the entire house. He was both thorough and efficient in his work, and I am much more confident in our purchase as a result. I recommend him to anyone in need of a home inspection. Thank you Al!
  • MD H. Aug 29, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Daniel J. Aug 7, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al Hastings was very professional, well-informed and the final inspection report was thorough and detailed. Answered all of our questions and offered good advice.
  • Christina F. Aug 6, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Brian H. Jul 24, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Brian L. Jul 16, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Stephanie H. Jun 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Laura G. May 2, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Friendly, professional service. Mr. Hastings arrived a few minutes ahead of time which means a lot to us. He was thorough and informative. We were very pleased with his services.
  • Mike W. Apr 29, 2015
    Mr.hastings did an excellent job inspecting the home I was looking at purchasing. I've known him most of my life he's great guy with an outstanding amount of knowledge of home inspections. Al was very nice and thorough in his inspection, I highly recommend calling him if you need a home inspection
  • Jacqueline B. Apr 15, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was wonderful in our first home inspection. We didn't know what to expect. He let my husband and I walk through the house with him and ask questions. He had an explanation for everything. At the end, he gave us recommendations for improving our house. I would definitely recommend Al for your home inspection.
  • Jennifer T. Mar 19, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Al was very respectful and professional. He was patient and happy to stop and explain what he was looking at. He was happy to have me along looking at the house with him. Which was useful because I wanted to see what maintenance issues might come up in the future. Finally, he provided an easy to obtain written report which I can refer back to. That will help me decided what to fix first as I go through owning my first home. Thank you for much for your hard work!
  • Josh L. Mar 18, 2015
    My Wife and I are relocating from Brooklyn to Buffalo. We Purchased an old home built in 1895 and needed an experienced home inspector. Al Hastings came up on the thumbtack website and we set up our home inspection with him. After the initial phone conversation we felt comfortable. Al makes everything very easy setting this up via email before the inspection and with an online website. There you can view both the initial contract and the final inspection report. He conducted a thorough inspection on the outside and throughout the entire property. The inspection took about 4 hours and was extremely informative. The one major concern was that the electric was very outdated. Al gave us an estimate off the top of his head. Two days later we had an electrical contractor walk through and the estimates matched. My wife and I were very pleased with the inspection and highly recommend Al Hastings for any home inspection.
  • Nora G. Sep 26, 2014
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Hastings did a great job on our Home Inspection. He was very professional and answered all of our questions. I would recommend him to friends and relatives. We are enjoying our new home. Thanks!

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
First, I collect your contact information, the address of the property you want inspected, Realtors name and contact info, if it applies. I then email you a username and password to access a website where the you can download the Pre inspection contract, print it, review it and we sign it at the time of the inspection. 24 hours after the inspection, you go back to the website and download your inspection report. If a Realtor is involved in the sale he or she will recieve access to the report from the inspector.
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
My education started as a laboror as a young man building and repairing houses with my grandfather, father and uncles. I have done many of my own projects including moving a house. I took a inspection course in 2001 and have been taking continuing edcation every years since then.
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
My fee is based on the square footage of the home. A home with a square footage of 1000 or less is $250.00. up to 1500 sq.ft. is $275.00, a 2000 sq.ft. is $300, 2250 is $325, 2500 sq.ft. is $350, 2750 sq.ft. is $375, a 3000 sq.ft. is $400, a 3250 sq.ft. is $425, a 3500 sq.ft. is $450, a 3750 sq.ft. is $475 and 4000 sq.ft. is $500. A garage is included, regardless of size. Other outbuildings larger than 200 sq ft are extra.
What types of customers have you worked with?
I have worked with people of all walks of life from around the world.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I inspected a 3 story 90 year old home in the city of Buffalo that had 6 fireplaces, natural wood work and hand painted walls, painted by painters that where here from Italy painting Kleihans Music Hall. I also had to walk thru 3 feet of snow. Took me 6 hours to inspect the home. 2015
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
I would suggest regardless of the fee, call all the inspectors that quoted you and ask questions.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
Is the cost of the inspection more important than the inspection itself. Consider the value of the inspectors knowledge and experience and tools used in the inspection process.