HouseAbout Home Inspections, LLC

Delmar, NY

Get up to five quotes from pros like HouseAbout Home Inspections, LLC within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

I am a New York State home inspector licensed since 2008 and also certified by the International Association of Certified Home Inspectors (InterNACHI). I specialize in residential inspections, radon gas testing, WDI (wood destroying insect) inspections, well water quality and water flow testing.

My clients are provided with an extremely thorough and independent home inspection followed by a detailed web-based inspection report complete with photographs and important links. My inspection reports can be easily sent by email to interested parties such as Realtors, real-estate attorneys, mortgage brokers, contractors or family members for review.

* Residential Inspections (buyer/seller home inspections)
Providing thorough, independent, non-bias residential & light commercial (mixed use) inspections for buyers & sellers. Detailed, easy to read narrative style web based inspection reports with photographs provided
* WDI (wood destroying insect) Inspections
Certified termite inspector, Inspecting for wood destroying insects ,termites, ants, beetles. Form NPMA - 33 provided (required with FHA loans)
* Radon Gas Testing
Testing for radon gas using short term charcoal canisters from RTCA lab. Radon is a cancer causing gas that enters the home through cracks & openings in foundation walls & slabs.
* Well Water Quality Testing
Testing for bacteria and other contaminates (lead, nitrites, nitrates etc..) in residential potable water supply. Water samples are delivered to St. Peter's Bender Laboratory for analyzing
* Move-In / Move-Out Inspections
Inspections of rental units before tenants move in and after they move out.
These inspections and the information they contain are useful when security deposits are involved
* 11 Month Warranty Inspections
Comprehensive evaluation of the interior and exterior of a home and it's major systems. It's conducted during the 11th month of occupancy, before the builder's warranty expires.
* Periodic Maintenance Inspections
Periodic Maintenance Inspections are best if performed every two years, to assure the health and safety of you and your family and to protect the security of your real estate investment. All major components are inspected and recommendations given.

Go to my website to view 5 sample home inspection reports!

My inspection area covers the entire capital region including Albany, Columbia, Greene, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga and Schenectady counties.

Location

Delmar, NY 12054

Years in business

9

Times hired on Thumbtack

19

Reviews

19 Reviews
  • Vince D. Aug 24, 2017
    David did a thorough job and was a true professional. I would definitely recommend him.
  • Judy P. Jun 14, 2017
    David was there before our scheduled meeting time, already examining and taking photos of the exterior of the property. He spent several hours in a relatively small townhouse, thoroughly examining every inch of it and documenting his findings with notes and photos. There were a few findings he found important enough to bring to my immediate attention, so I was already getting some much needed information about a transaction which ultimately would have been a mistake. David's report was more than a dozen pages long with quality photographs and diagrams and arrows to ensure the report was easily understandable. I did feel that his price was just a bit higher than some of his competitors, but in my mind it was certainly worth it.
  • Sara L. Jun 5, 2017
    We were pleased with the report Dave gave us-Great Job!! Would definitely recommend !
  • Anne F. Mar 24, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review Updated
    David is a Professional
    David did a very thorough job. His report included photos which helped to explain the problem areas. I liked the links which gave helpful tips. You can not go wrong by hiring David
  • Verified Review Original
    David is a Professional
    David did a very thorough job. His report included photos which helped to explain the problem areas. I liked the links which gave helpful tips. You can not go wrong by hiring David
  • Joann M. Nov 19, 2016
    Great experience
    Working with David of HouseAboutHomes was a pleasure. He was professional, very thorough and very patient with answering all my questions. His report was received very quickly and was lengthy and detailed. In addition to good explanations of any problem areas, it contained photos of those areas, recommendations and many helpful links to other informational sources. I believe I will be using this report as a reference guide for quite a while.
  • Casandra H. Sep 29, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    outstanding service
    We are vary pleased with his services he was vary informative and let us know everything we needed to know through out the process. He was early to the site which I really liked made the process go that much smoother. thanks for the information it helped us understand things that much more. will use him again in the future thanks again. john
  • Christopher L. Sep 14, 2016
    Dependable, Quality Inspector
    David provided a very thorough inspection of a home I had put an offer on. He was extremely courteous and professional. As a first time home buyer, I made sure to come prepared with many questions and asked many additional ones while I walked through the house with David. He was patient and answered most of my questions with good detail. Questions regarding prices which could involve contractor work were the only ones he couldn't answer. Additionally, his actual report was very detailed and easy to digest. The fact that it came with pictures that I could refer back to turned out to be very useful. I would also mention that the sellers did not provide keys to the thermostat to check the heaters but David had no problem coming back to check. All in all, I would not hesitate to hire David again.
  • Frank B. Aug 26, 2016
    Dave's inspection and reports are the best. He is very conscienceless, throughout and very detailed. Dave not only puts the time and energy into his work he takes the time to show, explain and answer any questions you made have regarding the inspection. The follow up is fast and timely and the full report with photo's and comments are sent to your email for you to examine. You will not be disappointed.
  • Michelle L. Jun 7, 2016
    David was very professional and helpful. As first time homebuyers, he explained everything and answered all of our questions, no matter how trivial. We are glad we chose HouseAbout Home Inspections for our home inspection.
  • Stephanie R. May 30, 2016
    Mr. O'Keefe is a consummate professional and expert in the field of home inspections. I highly recommend his extremely capable knowledge! When I first looked at the home we have a contract on, I had a team of friends and family who also went through with me "inspecting" as we went. Well they missed several major issues that Mr. O'Keefe did not!! This was the best money I've spent in a very long time!! Get him booked as soon as possible!
  • William R. May 6, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Michael F. May 4, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great description of problems and potential problems of the house I was buying. Very much assisted me with the purchasing of the house. Very good full written report about the house condition.
  • Norman L. Apr 24, 2016
    David is one of the best home inspectors in the area. He pays attention to detail and you come away knowing everything you need to know about a prospective purchase. I WILL use him on our next purchase.
  • Alexis H. Apr 5, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Felipe S. Mar 4, 2016
    Pre Listing Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Professional. Courteous. Reasonable.
  • Lori F. Feb 1, 2016
    Dave was professional, thorough, and knowledgeable. The turnaround time for his report was super fast. The report was very professional and easy to understand. I would recommend him for your home inspection and since he saved us from buying a terrible mistake, I will be using him for our next inspection too!
  • Saiyang H. Nov 8, 2015
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    David is very careful inspect every item.
  • Daniel G. Feb 9, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    David was recommended to me through a friend and didn't disapoint. Very professional and did a very thorough inspection. If I need to have another home inspected in the future I will use him and have already recommended to others.
  • Sierra F. Jan 30, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very professional! David made the whole process simple and gave us lots of great information and recommendations. My husband and I are buying our first house and we had no idea what to expect. We have a number of other things to do in a short period of time and David took one worry off of our plate. If you're like us, buying your first home have no idea who to call, you need to call HouseAbout Home Inspections!

Q&A

What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?
The number one standard when I price an inspection is the size of the home. Other factors that may influence the fee are multi-family homes, foundations (basement, crawlspace or slab), age, # of garages. Typical, the fee for a single family home under 2000 sq. ft. of living space with a full basement and garage would range from $350 to #375. Ancillary services are an added fee. These include radon gas test, $100 (with inspection), WDI inspection $35 (with inspection), Water quality testing start $80 for bacteria testing. Call for other water test pricing.
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I received my Home Inspector license in September, 2008. Since then, as a requirement of the licensing, I receive 24 hours of continuing education training every two years. I am also a member of InterNACHI, the largest home inspection association in the United States. Through my membership in InterNACHI, I receive an additional 12 hours of CE a year. Membership in InterNACHI is not required but I find it valuable resource in my business.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
I recently did an inspection for a couple buying their first home in Troy, NY. The couple had limited funds but the husband was not adverse to doing some work on the home. I found major defects in the basement of the home, primarily with moisture entering the basement. There were structural and environmental issues present. Cost to repair the basement was significant. After receiving the Inspection Report the couple backed out of the purchase. Several months later the couple contacted me, they found another home in Schenectady, NY. I found this home in much better shape than the first one. Although there was work that needed to be done, it was not overwhelming. Although the couple was initially disappointed when the first home purchase fell through,they were thankful that I saved them from a money pit and that they were able to find a much better home.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
The number one thing I would tell them is, do not hire an inspector by price alone. One thing I was taught when getting quotes is you should throw out the lowest and highest bids and hire someone in the middle. Also you should interview the inspector and ask for a sample Inspection Report for you to review.