Shack Inspections

Dallas, TX

Get up to five quotes from pros like Shack Inspections within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Having completed over 3,000 home inspections in the Dallas, Fort Worth, and surrounding areas, Christine Shack, now with Shack Inspections, is here to assist with all of your home inspecting needs. Her love of inspecting, extreme attention to detail, and use of the latest inspecting tools and technology promises to provide you or your client with a quality inspection report. Shack Inspections offers: - Full Home Inspections - Wood Destroying Insect Inspections (Termite) - Mold Inspections - Lead Inspections - Infrared Camera Inspections - Pool & Spa / Pool Equipment Inspections Shack Inspections offers competitive pricing for every home type and condition. No home is too big or small! Contact Christine for questions, quotes, or to book an inspection today! Thanks!

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I enjoy inspecting and finding problems that would cost my clients money and time. I enjoy working with my clients so they understand exactly what is happening in their homes so they can make the best buying/selling decisions. I have extensive experience in working with investors, first-time home buyers, and home sellers. I enjoy working in homes and remodeling homes in my spare time. I have a clear understanding of material and service costs so I can clearly explain repairs needed and the cost associated with them at the time of the home inspection. I enjoy informing my clients on potential costs and current problems in their future homes.
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Dallas, TX 75219

Background check

Complete

Years in business

2

Number of employees

1

Times hired on Thumbtack

63

Reviews

32 Reviews
  • Farhan K. May 21, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough, and knowledgeable.
  • Neha P. Apr 9, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great experience
    Christine was very professional and did a thorough job. I would defiantly recommend her!!!
  • Akshay G. Mar 14, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    good price but don't expect much
    I would rate non satisfactory because I didn't get the report post inspection until I requested. I asked some questions in email from report, for which I'm still waiting. Inspector didn't check roof by climbing and no pictures from roof were taken.
  • David E. Mar 9, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Will hire again and recommend to friends
    Quality work! My father is a home inspector and structural engineer and usually does reports for my home purchases but now he is 1000 miles away. Shack Inspections did such a great job, I didn't feel like I was missing anything. Very thorough and she knows her stuff!
  • Kelsey S. Feb 17, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    BEST INSPECTOR OUT THERE!
    Christine did our home inspection - this is the first house we will be buying and I am so happy we found her. She is there to answer any questions you may have and does a very thorough job. We will be using her for any other inspections we need done in the future and will gladly recommend her.
  • Torrey B. Feb 8, 2017
    Termite Inspection
    Verified Review
    Good job!
    Good job!
  • Josh L. Feb 7, 2017
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Inspection / progress photos
    Great pictures and inspection report, timely response, and great pricing.
  • Allie C. Jan 22, 2017
    Termite Inspection
    Verified Review
    Shack Inspections is the real deal!
    Christine is a real professional. Arrived and delivered right on time. I'm a real estate broker so I work with a lot of inspectors. I will not hesitate to use Shack Inspections again.
  • Kristin T. Dec 23, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough and knowledgeable. Already planning on using this company again soon.
  • Joseph F. Sep 10, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Well Qualified & Thorough Inspector
    Christine was very thorough with her inspection. She has a tool box that will make most guys jealous! Very capable and studied inspector. We received the nearly 50 page report the day after the inspection, and it was very inclusive. After a day or two passed, I tried to call and left a message, but no replies. Done deal I guess.
  • Beatriz G. Aug 25, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Joe T. Aug 11, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Thank you. You did a very good job.
  • Brittany W. Aug 8, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The service received for the price was great in comparison. The inspector covered everything I needed for the inspection. The Inspector was available to answer all of my questions after the inspection was complete. I have no complaints.
  • Stefanie K. Aug 1, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    It was so easy! There were 3 different companies who messaged me within the hour of signing up with Thumbtack.com. And I can't say enough good things about Shack Home Inspections! Prompt communication and a comprehensive and thorough report! I would refer Thumbtack for your comparison needs for any job!
  • Leah G. Aug 1, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Christine was very professional and prepared! Her inspection was thorough and at great rate. I would definitely recommend her!
  • Zack A. Jul 29, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough and easy to understand report with pictures and deficiency explanations. Appreciate the timeliness and quality of work. Will hire again.
  • Johnny R. Jul 25, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough, professional inspection. All the latest technologies and methods were used, giving me complete information and peace of mind.
  • Girish N. Jul 21, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Christine is a professional. She did a thorough job of home inspection. She does general inspection, pool inspection, termite and pest inspection. She uses latest equipment like infrared scanner and Laser Levels. Result is a complete evaluation of house. She is detail oriented and gave us a 55 page unbiased report that was very useful in making decision. I highly recommend Christine for this most important part of your house buying process.
  • Mundo C. Jun 30, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Matt M. Jun 27, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Agustin R. Jun 23, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very friendly and thorough. Was able to do inspection the day after we spoke. Would definitely use services again!
  • Courtney K. Jun 4, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very thorough and I got the report quickly. And very affordable
  • Adam S. May 18, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Chris W. Apr 20, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Emily S. Apr 14, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Well, she seemed to do a thorough job per her verbal report to me, and I was very pleased initially. However, she made a big deal about the foundation being severely impaired and stated that it was off level by more than 2 inches, so I negotiated with the seller to see if they would allow us to extend the option period so that we could get a structural engineer. $500 later, a well-respected structural engineer told me there was absolutely no problem with the foundation and it was only off by 1 inch in a few areas, which is expected with a house that age. Also, she called the seller and the seller's listing agent to tell them about a water leak she found under the water heater (which I thought was weird, she really should have started by calling me or my real estate agent since we were the people who hired her!) and they hired a plumber who stated that there was no problem with the water heater. According to the seller and her agent, my inspector was not very kind to them, which made it difficult for me later during negotiations. Her written inspection report was not very specific (it did not mention that the house was off-level by over 2 inches, for example) which made it difficult to negotiate with the seller.. Several pieces of information that she told me verbally were nowhere to be found in the report. The last issue I had was her general unresponsiveness when I had questions about the inspection. It took her 4 hours the next day to call me back, even though I had told her the night before that our option period was ending at noon. In general, I would not recommend Shack Inspections.
  • Michael S. Apr 6, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Christine showed up on time. She was very professional and thorough with her work. Her quote included inspections for which other inspection services were charging extra. She is very knowledgeable about what to look for after the fact and informed us which repairs were needed immediately and which ones can wait. The sellers of the home were so impressed with her they said they would be using her too.
  • Amy D. Apr 2, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Stasha M. Mar 30, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Alan M. Mar 14, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    It was a pleasure having Christine inspect our home for us. She arrived on time and brought a bevy of tools. She was very personable and willing to answer all our questions. We are confident that we got a thorough and accurate inspection.
  • Ricky P. Jan 2, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Jason from GreenWorks arrived at our home right on time. He took the time to explain what he was going to do before proceeding. While the inspection took longer than expected, Jason did not rush to finish. The report we received was well written and clear.
  • Joel S. Jan 2, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Don't bother looking else where I already did that for you, did my homework on them and no other company compared on price and quality closed on my home quick because of there fast service. They found a couple of problems in the home that needed repairs and were done prior to closing everything they found the appraiser from the bank found which saved me time since the seller was now aware and was working to fix the probles . They completes the inspection while I was at work they have access to vacant property's which is what I needed, got my detailed inspection with pictures and measurements and sent it right over to the bank. Vey quick and professional
  • Anabel G. Apr 5, 2012
    Verified Review

Q&A

What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?
My pricing is set at a standard internal rate that is adjusted for distance traveled and complexity of the home (i.e. Year constructed, presence of a pool, additional services such as termite/mold.)
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I hold a Professional Home Inspection License from the State of Texas. I also am a licensed Mold Technician, a licensed Lead Inspector, a licensed Termite Inspector / Applicator, a licensed Pool Inspector/Operator, and a certified roof inspector with HAAG. I personally do continuing education every year for all of the licensed listed above. Education is very important to me and I will use my experience to provide the most comprehensive inspection available. It's very important for great inspectors to stay on the cutting edge of building science. The residential home can experience a lot of change in a short amount of time and investing the time and money to stay up to date is top priority of Shack Inspections.
What types of customers have you worked with?
At Shack Inspections we work with all types of customers. Our only requirement is that you have a house for us to inspect!
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
1. Is it a personalized service? Too many small business try to be all things to all people, shorting everyone involved. I would look for a specialized expert who can provide a comprehensive service and report. 2. Does the provider understand your needs and most importantly do they care? This often times gets over looked only to realize after paying,as a customer, you feel cheated or shorted by the experience. With us you have full access to us and a rigorous follow-up process guarantees any concerns or questions are addressed promptly and fully. 3. Does the service provider actually have a passion for the work they do and for serving the public? I can't emphasize enough what passion for the people and the work does to transform a company. This is my life's mission. I was lucky enough to find my passion young and will dedicate all I have to your home's success for now and years to come.