Hidden Creek Farm

Ruckersville, VA

Get up to five quotes from pros like Hidden Creek Farm within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your service stand out?

Unlike other barns in the area we teach European Seat based riding which allows us to teach all styles of riding to fit what ever you want to do instead of specializing only in one area.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I love the teaching part of my job. I have endless patience so helping students really understand the way a horse thinks and acts is my passion. I feel that it is important in a child's life for them to learn how to listen and understand, which is a great life lesson and just one of the many life lessons that horses can teach you. There are also so many wonderful things for adults to learn from horses and sometimes just get away. Focusing on a living breathing horse under you tends to push all other troubles from your mind. Which is what bring a lot of my adult back week after week. Although I would love to say it's me! ;)
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Ruckersville, VA 22968

Years in business

14

Number of employees

2

Times hired on Thumbtack

5

Reviews

6 Reviews
  • concerned parent c. Apr 13, 2016
    this farm was so messy and dumpy with stuff all over the yard and property. Christmas wreaths still on house. looked like a property that should be closed, not open for my young children to run around and get hurt. when I saw the entrance to the "farm" I seriously was like, what? muddy mess in the fields, no true barn, unprofessional.
    Replied to concerned parent c. - Apr 13, 2016

    I'm so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience coming to my farm. Did you have an appointment to visit my farm and talk to me? And the "Christmas wreath" on my front door is a lucky horse show wreath from a student, and I plan on keeping that up as long as it still looks good. The other wreath was an Easter wreath but you may not have noticed it. I do have a barn with 7 stalls that works very well for me and my operation, since we like our horses to be free to run around and not locked in stalls all day. I am sorry that you expected a aisle barn but my has been take down since I no longer run a large operation. I do wish you would consider making an appointment with me and allowing me to show you around the farm so you can get a better idea of our barn and our outstanding safety record. But thank you for your review.

  • Irtefa B. Jun 22, 2015
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
    Tammy is fabulous, as is her mother! They will work with you to fit lessons into your schedule. I highly highly recommend them!
  • Jessica B. May 5, 2015
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
  • concerned parent c. Apr 13, 2016
    this farm was so messy and dumpy with stuff all over the yard and property. Christmas wreaths still on house. looked like a property that should be closed, not open for my young children to run around and get hurt. when I saw the entrance to the "farm" I seriously was like, what? muddy mess in the fields, no true barn, unprofessional.
    Replied to concerned parent c. - Apr 13, 2016

    I'm so sorry to hear that you had such a bad experience coming to my farm. Did you have an appointment to visit my farm and talk to me? And the "Christmas wreath" on my front door is a lucky horse show wreath from a student, and I plan on keeping that up as long as it still looks good. The other wreath was an Easter wreath but you may not have noticed it. I do have a barn with 7 stalls that works very well for me and my operation, since we like our horses to be free to run around and not locked in stalls all day. I am sorry that you expected a aisle barn but my has been take down since I no longer run a large operation. I do wish you would consider making an appointment with me and allowing me to show you around the farm so you can get a better idea of our barn and our outstanding safety record. But thank you for your review.

  • Irtefa B. Jun 22, 2015
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
    Tammy is fabulous, as is her mother! They will work with you to fit lessons into your schedule. I highly highly recommend them!
  • Jessica B. May 5, 2015
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
  • Cheryl S. Feb 15, 2015
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
    Very patient. Took tume to explain everything. We are going back!
  • Bang D. Nov 18, 2014
    Horseback Riding Lessons
    Verified Review
  • Ann T. Oct 27, 2014
    I have been riding with Tammy and Kandi since 2006. Their knowledge base is outstanding. And so is their selection of horses. I highly recommend Hidden Creek Farm.

Q&A

What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
We are a laid back farm with a lot of energy, so I tend to just throw people in lessons with others. We love the company of riding and think and above all it should be fun to come to your riding lesson. But often with kids I like to teach the first lesson one on one so they can really get an idea of who I am, how I teach and what it's all about. So It just all depends on the situation, age and goals of the student.
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I always make sure that I am reading and keeping up with things in the horse world and I also take lessons myself to make sure I'm not getting sloppy. And I try to make sure to learn something new every year for summer camp. So my returning students always have something new to learn from me!
Do you have a standard pricing system for your service? If so, please share the details here.
We have a sliding scale for students based on age and type of lesson they get for their age. Regular riding lessons for ages 8 and up last for an hour and half and that includes learning to tack up and untack and 45 minutes on the horse. They are priced at $40 for the first lesson, then drop to $35 if you want to pay as you go and drop to $30 if you prepay for your lesson. Students under the age of 8 go into classes with a lower price. And Private or Side Saddle lessons are priced higher.
How did you get started doing this type of work?
I don't really think I made the decision. My mom rode horses and trained and so I learned and we had a farm and I love teaching and it didn't really make sense to go find something else to do. I get to work outside, hang out with great people and love animals all day long. What else would I do?
What types of customers have you worked with?
I have worked with kids as young are 3 and adult as old at 85 learning to ride for the first time. I have worked with student who need a little extra care and attention and those who just use horses as a way to get out of the house each week and don't really want to learn much more than how to walk, trot and canter.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Take lessons from a couple of different people and don't be afraid to ask questions. You should be learning from someone who makes riding look easy. From someone who can do it with out thinking. And from someone who can answer all of your questions. Why do you do it that way? Why are you teaching me this? Why is it important to learn this? All of these questions are important and if your trainer can't answer them then you should find a new trainer.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
That horses are big animals that can hurt you. They are beautiful and loving and kind but they are big animals and riding is not for everyone. I wish people would buy their kids lessons instead of a horse. A lot of kids will find it hard work learning how to ride. But those who do learn are happy they did! And will gain a hobby they can do their entire lives!