GIC Home Inspections, LLC & Handyman

Stockbridge, GA

Get up to five quotes from pros like GIC Home Inspections, LLC & Handyman within hours. Get Quotes

About this pro

How does your business stand out?

GIC Home Inspections, LLC provides bright multiple pixel photos in each report. The report is delivered within 24 hours of the inspection. We are available on Saturdays and Sundays to accommodate your busy schedule. We are licensed to do business in the state of GA, insured through The Harford and certified inspectors. As a handyman, I have studied Mechanical Engineering Technology at Southern Polytechnic State University in Marietta, GA. I aslo have been assembling furniture, exercise equipment, automotive parts, and building wood furniture since I was a young boy. It is natural for me to assess a project, determine the safest and most cost effective manner to repair, assemble or replace items.

What do you enjoy about the work you do?

I like working with people, being outside and growing a small business. Most importantly, I like doing a good job for my client and being able to point our areas that most people miss during an inspection. I also enjoy working with my hands, so providing handyman services is ideal for me.
{[{ questions.text }]}

Location

Stockbridge, GA 30281

Background check

Complete

Times hired on Thumbtack

72

Reviews

64 Reviews
  • Brandon D. Jul 20, 2017
    Mr. Gibson was very professional and thorough in his inspection of our home. He takes his time to ensure that my wife and I knew exactly what was going on now and what to be prepared for in the future.
  • Melissa H. Jul 5, 2017
    As a Realtor, I only use and recommend the BEST to my clients. I refer George Gibson with GIC Home Inspections because he is one of the best. He is always on time, professional, thorough, and explains the problem areas to my clients in a way that is factual, but also easy to understand! Their reports are attractive, professional & detailed! They always have reports to the buyer & agent same- day or within 24 hours! George With GIC Inspections doesn't settle for less than quality work, he takes time to explain his findings in detail to whoever is invloved, and he has been readily available after the inspection for followup questions and contractor recommendations. In additional.... George has really went above & beyond for me several times for rush inspections. He has worked around my schedule & the buyers conducting inspections for us in the evenings, holidays and weekends . (Whatever it takes to satisfy the client!) This is a company that is all about quality & relationships! You cannot go wrong choosing George Gibson with GIC Home Inspections. Highly recommended by: Melissa Husak, Realtor Drake Realty of Greater Atlanta, Inc.
  • Anissa G. Jan 27, 2017
    Thank you!
    Very professional Excellent job and dependable.
  • Krishnan S. Oct 7, 2016
    Garbage Disposal Repair
    Verified Review
    Fixed our Garbage disposal
    George came15 mins ahead of time and fixed the garbage disposal. He is well experienced and professional . We will hire him again. Thanks George.
  • Peshawa H. Sep 9, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very professional
    Very nice guys Knows his stuff very good and explained everything very good and very professional he was on time and early by 30 minutes Very friendly I would tell all my friends about him and his work
  • Yolanda L. Jul 23, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    He stacked my washer and dryer and installed them in the space I needed. He tested to make sure they were working properly. He did a great job! Very efficient.
  • Verletta M. Jun 23, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    A great value for the price! Mr. Gibson was awesome from beginning to end. He was very responsive when booking the inspection and flexible with my scheduling. He arrived to the site early and was ready to start promptly at the scheduled time. He was very thorough and knowledgeable as he walked us through each step. He shared valuable information and "insider tips" throughout the process and stayed afterwards to address general questions I had about the house. He made the entire process a pleasant learning experience. I would highly recommend him!
  • Mike D. May 17, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    George is a great guy. He was on time and even a few early. He was a great communicator. Explained things thoroughly. He crawled through blown insulation through the attic to check the entire perimeter. He was did a very in depth look around. He is also a handyman so he knows what things cost.
  • Olu S. Apr 13, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    My experience with George was great! Friendly, thorough, affordable, just a consummate professional! Even with some issues getting into the property, no fault of George at all, he remained patient and flexible through out. And even with the delays, he managed to get the report to me later that evening. Highly recommend him.
  • Jeff G. Mar 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Performed pre purchase inspection. Very respectful and knowledgeable. Gave some great ideas regarding concerns and potential problems. Took the time to explain what he was checking and why he was checking. Very thorough.
  • Amber W. Mar 6, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    George was great. He came out last minute to do our pre-purchase home inspection and was super flexible. He was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely use him again.
  • Olivia A. Feb 29, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was great. More than great he was awesome! He came to my house last minute and really helped with the items I needed done. I will use him again! Thank you George.
  • Delicia S. Feb 26, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    What a pleasure doing business with such a knowledgeable, mannerable and pleasant gentleman. I will definitely use him again.
  • Shemeka S. Feb 23, 2016
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Gibson responded immediately, exhibited excellent customer service, completed a thorough home inspection, and provided report on the same day.
  • Sheri S. Feb 4, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Amber B. Jan 28, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Lynda W. Jan 23, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was incredible! Best handyman I ever had! Highly professional, very personable, knows exactly what to do and cleaned up after finishing. So glad to have found him!
  • Amy M. Jan 15, 2016
    Pre Purchase Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    The inspector was very thorough and was available on a short notice. SPent 4 hours with my husband inspecting home we were thinking of buying. Had inspection report ready for us that night . Very nice and professional , will use him again since we did not purchase this home.
  • Jennifer B. Jan 4, 2016
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    Would highly recommend! Very professional, completed all our jobs, plus a few additional ones. We'll definitely call him again for work around the house.
  • Linn V. Dec 30, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    This handyman is a true professional in every way! I could not have been more pleased. I highly recommend him!
  • Jesse P. Dec 30, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Paid attention to detail and had necessary equipment to test everything in the home from crawl space to roof. Gave me detailed report with photos within 24 hours. Gave recommendations for fixes. We definitely recommend him to anyone.
  • Melissa R. Dec 23, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Brandon T. Dec 20, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Amazing, Home inspection report was very detailed and he made me feel confident moving forward.
  • Mike T. Dec 17, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    Quick responding, and very competitive pricing. A pleasure to work with.
  • Gregory D. Nov 23, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I had a roof inspection on November 23, 2015 George was very prompt very professional and very knowledgeable about his craft, easy to talk to and answered any and every question that I had I would highly recommend him and use his services again. Thanks, Gregory Daniels
  • Desmond S. Nov 20, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Burt W. Nov 20, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    In and out very quick and we are satisfied. I look forward to using George again.
  • Kelley S. Nov 18, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was incredibly professional and responded to my request and finished the job in a super timely manner! I highly recommend using him for your services in the future.
  • Shayna M. Oct 28, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Chantal S. Oct 22, 2015
    I had a great experience with GIC Home Inspections, LLC & Handyman. As a first time home buyer, George was patient, thorough, well prepared and really took the time to explain what he was doing, as well as the importance and priority of his findings. His overall professionalism really put me at ease.
  • Ingram L. Oct 21, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Very pleased with GIC home inspection service. Mr. Gibson is very professional and knowledgeable. He came out on a Sunday afternoon. He delivered the report on the same day. He provided a summary on safety issues and major concerns that needed to be addressed. This was very helpful. Pricing is also very competitive.
  • Veronica D. Oct 16, 2015
    Furniture Assembly
    Verified Review
    The most professional experience I have had using thumbtack occurred after selecting Mr. Gibson to pick up and assemble my furniture. He went the extra mile to pick up the furniture prior to our appointment time so that he would be on time! He arrived on time with the items and I couldn't have been more pleased. I didn't have to tell him anything! He worked quickly and efficiently to assemble the table and it looks amazing! I told my husband that we found our resident handyman! Thanks so much Mr. Gibson!!!
  • Kimberley W. Oct 12, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    Mr. Gibson arrived on time and was extremely professional. He completed his job in a more than satisfactory time and rendered suggestions when asked. He was polite and very focused on the task at hand. I will be calling on him for future endeavors and I would recommend him highly to anyone who needs home inspection and maintenance work.
  • Carole A. Oct 7, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was Awesome could not have asked for a better person and helper for all of our home needs
  • Dijhaann W. Oct 5, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was great, very professional, and efficient. He came with the necessary tools to do all the jobs I wanted to get done. George also went above and beyond to complete the task at hand. I will defiantly be calling him in the future.
  • Kenya L. Oct 1, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr. Gibson was great. He carefully went over the house. He gave us sound advise about how to deal with future issues and expected home maintenance. We'll be calling him again soon!
  • Jennifer D. Sep 22, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    George did a great job inspecting our home. My husband and I thought he was very thorough. He was easy to contact, on time, and was able to fit us in with only a day's notice. He even managed to get us our inspection report that same night. I highly recommend him as a home inspector.
  • Sarah C. Sep 15, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George did several finishing projects for our new screened porch--hanging curtains, installing rain barrels, etc. He was professional, courteous, and did excellent work for a fair price. We would definitely use George again and will be recommending his work to family and friends.
  • Rashena J. Sep 14, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    George was wonderful very thorough and all the information that he provided for myself and my husband and I will would recommend him
  • Kevin B. Sep 12, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George is very professional, courteous and Prompt. I will definitely be using his services again in the future!
  • D. K. Sep 11, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Larencia B. Sep 11, 2015
    George is wonderful! Prompt, polite, professional and very kind. I will definitely recommend him to ANYONE who needs an inspection. Our inspection was on Thursday and we had the report by early Friday morning. I am very pleased, and will use him again.
  • Eddie A. Sep 10, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was great. He replaced two water faucets for the price he quoted and he was quick, efficient and very courteous. I would highly recommend him to others.
  • Allison F. Sep 9, 2015
    IKEA Furniture Assembly
    Verified Review
  • Paul R. Sep 6, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    Showed up on-time, professional, and completed all tasks quickly and very reasonably priced. He even figured out a stereo wiring program the previous Audio guy could not figure out. Highly recommend and will use George with GIC again.
  • Lisa K. Sep 6, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George is excellent!! Very professional...took the time to explain what he was doing. Would highly recommend !
  • Beth S. Sep 3, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George helped me when I needed assistance with handyman work. He completed the job quickly and very well. Easy to contact, and to work with. Reasonable rates also. Highly recommend him.
  • Meghan S. Sep 3, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George is really an amazing guy, super professional and knowledgeable regarding my requests. He even ran to a Home Depot to get a couple of pieces I did not have for an installation. I highly recommend his expertise!
  • Danica P. Aug 17, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was on time and thorough with my project! I highly recommend him.
  • Shanna M. Aug 16, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Christy M. Aug 15, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
  • Patrick S. Aug 14, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
  • Kristy M. Aug 13, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George put a large car canopy 10x20 feet in the back of a small commercial building for me. It came in a box and he put it together etc. He did a great job, works fast and efficient and has a nice demeanor. Very fair pricing. Will highly recommend
  • Valerie R. Aug 10, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    The job was readjusting a bathroom mirror, lowering a shelf in the laundry room and reinforcing 2 closet clothing bars. George was on time, came in assessed what needed to be done, walked me through why my thought of a mini project was more of a medium project. He helped me with the purchase of the materials I needed and was more than patient and professional. There is no one else I will ever use going forward except George! You can not go wrong with him. (Oh and his prices are fair and more than reasonable)
  • Deedra M. Aug 7, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    George performed a very detailed inspection and explained every issue in easy to understand laymen terms.I would highly recommend him and plan to use his services again!
  • John B. Aug 2, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    George was outstanding. I needed an old wood attic ladder replaced with a new aluminum one that I bought from Home Depot. George was on time, explained to me everything he was doing, and was extremely professional. I would highly recommend George and will definitely be using him again if I need more things done around the house.
  • Thedianne L. Jul 24, 2015
    Handyman
    Verified Review
    GIG Home Inspections was very professional, quick, clean and reliable. I would recommend this servce to anyone looking for good home repairs. (he waited in his truck for me to run to Home Depot to purchase a missing part) Wow....what service!
  • Ashley G. Jul 19, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Mr . Gibson arrived on time and was very friendly. He inspected the house thoroughly with great insight on the needed repairs and the health/safety of our family.Due to his great inspection he saved our family years of money and good health. I will continue to use Jim again. Gailey Family
  • Laquisha W. Jul 1, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    Great experience with GIC! George arrived early and got started immediately. He was very thorough and walked us through the entire inspection. He pointed out anything that he found. I was very impressed with the thermal imaging, which allowed us to see any hidden moisture. George prepared a thorough report and sent it within the stated time frame, just a few hours after the inspection. I would highly recommend GIC if you're looking for professionalism and accuracy!
  • Keena W. Jun 24, 2015
    I needed a home inspection as soon as possible and Mr. Gibson was able to make it happen. He was able to provide me with an extremely detailed inspection report in less than 24hrs after having done the inspection. I appreciate Mr. Gibson and would use him again.
  • Beatrice J. Jun 19, 2015
    We found Mr. Gibson to be very professional. He was prompt, attentive to questions put forth and he answered them satisfactorily. Mr. Gibson paid very close attention to detail during the inspection and Mr. Gibson discussed his observations and explained cause and effect. Mr. Gibson also made recommendations with explanations. He was patient to questions and, in my opinion, straightforward with his responses. His professionalism and knowledge of questions put to him was very impressive. I recommend Mr. Gibson to anyone in need of a home inspection.
  • Alecia R. Jun 16, 2015
    Home Inspection
    Verified Review
    I am very pleased with the inspection that Mr. Gibson performed. He was very professional, considerate and patient. He provided and extremely detailed report of my property down to the window treatments:-)...I appreciate the time and effort he put into making sure that I knew everything about my new purchase and I will definitely hire him again for my future inspection needs!
  • Jasmine T. Jun 15, 2015
    I have had two home inspections with George, and both experiences were great. George is very professional and thorough. He is extremely detail with his work, and when He is done if he states that he will send you a report that night thats just what he does send you a very detail report of his findings and explanations. GIC Home inspections LLC is the best
  • Ernie D. Jun 11, 2015
    Hired George to inspect two homes I was attempting to buy. He is very thorough and professional. The inspection reports were complete with description of findings with quality photos.I would not use anyone else in the future.

Q&A

What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?
We base our prices on the square footage of the home, nothing complicated. Regarding handyman assignments, I try to keep my prices fixed if you provide me with the details of the work required. If you don't provide details, I have to offer an hourly rate because I can only estimate what you need done and how long it will take.
What is your typical process for working with a new customer?
I know the economy isn't fair to all people and some people require services, on a limited budget. So I submit a quote, but allow customers to submit a better offer that fits their budget. I work with all customers and if I can't help them, I try to refer them to another service provider that can help.
What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?
I am always taking inspection classes, either through ICC (International Code Council), American Society of Home Inspectors (ASHI), American Home Inspectors Training Institute (AHIT) and reading various blogs/magazines for new and innovative ways of helping my clients. In additon to numerous mathematics courses ranging from Calculus IV to Linear Algebra, I have taken two years of Mechanical Engineering courses at Souther Polytechnic State University. I continuously read and study International Code to ensure I am inspecting, installing or assembling home items to the standards of ICC (International Code Council).
How did you get started doing this type of work?
I bought a home several years ago and walked with the inspector at the time of the inspection. I already enjoyed working outdoors and using my hands, so after a 16+ year career as a Human Resources Professional, I decided to begin working for myself.
What types of customers have you worked with?
Walk on the roof; actually enter the crawlspaces; point out where the electrical, gas and water shutoff breaker/valves are located in a picture; return to the property for a follow-up at no cost if I forget something or the client has a question after buying; Reduce prices when necessary to assist the client. I have assembled furniture, exercise equipment, go karts and more. I have also installed ceiling fans, crawlspace vents, light fixtures, electrical outlets and switches, attic ladders, bathroom fixtures, kitchen fixtures, gas stoves, microwave ranges, refrigerators, laminate floors, door knobs and locks and more.
Describe a recent project you are fond of. How long did it take?
One home I inspected appeared great to the naked eye. The client was excited and so was I until I used the thermal imaging camera in the bathroom. Upon viewing the ceiling, I noticed a moisture spot; went into the attic and found a new leak. The plumber was contacted by the seller, which saved the seller from a huge repair bill and saved the home for my client to buy and move in quickly.
What advice would you give a customer looking to hire a provider in your area of work?
Ask if the inspector actually walks on the roof if allowable; ask if the inspector is certified and insured; ask how long it takes to obtain your report; ask if the inspector goes into the crawlspaces or just views from the hatch. Most importantly, ask if the inspector has a relationship with the selling realtor, they may be biased.
What questions should customers think through before talking to professionals about their project?
The attic is normally 110 or more degrees F in the summer months. Most crawlspaces don't have vapor barriers, so it can be dusty or muddy in those areas. It takes time to inspect a property correctly, so we may take longer than expected. Everyone that says they are handy aren't always handy. They should offer some examples of their work, like I have in my profile.