A note to our community regarding COVID-19. Learn more
Amanda's Tutoring
Amanda's Tutoring

Amanda's Tutoring

Offers remote services
Discounts available
Offers remote services
Discounts available
$30/hour
estimated cost


Select a service
Zip code
Math type
Student age
Introduction: I have been tutoring students in math for about two and a half years now, and I am passionate about and dedicated to the students I teach. I graduated from Brigham Young University in April 2019 with a Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and a minor in Classical Studies with a Greek Emphasis. As such, I am well-versed in math subjects ranging from fractions to calculus, and I have worked with students from as young as seven to those in their early twenties. I have also assisted multiple students with ACT test prep, particularly the mathematics section. I can analyze a student’s strengths and weaknesses and develop lessons focused on improving their understanding and fixing their learning gaps. Several of the students I have taught have dramatically improved their grades by working with me. I have seen college students improve their test scores by more than 30 points, high schoolers resurrect their entire transcript, and junior high and elementary school students grasp seemingly impossible concepts. Furthermore, after working with me for several weeks, my students have consistently reported a jump of 3 or 4 points in their ACT scores. Finally, I believe any student is capable of understanding and even enjoying math, and when hired, I take it upon myself to ensure that their self-esteem grows alongside their comfort with the subject material. Several of the students whom I have helped had previously been led to believe that they were incapable or even stupid, and I recognize that it is part of my job to change that perception of themselves, as well as their performance. A Note Regarding Covid-19: I am able to tutor both in-person as well as over Zoom. However, when in-person I do use hand sanitizer before and after every appointment, and I always use a mask. My clients have the option to wear masks too.
Overview

Hired 8 times

1 similar job done near you

Background checked

1 employee

3 years in business

Payment methods

Cash, Check, Venmo

Featured Projects

6 photos

Reviews

Customers rated this pro highly for professionalism, responsiveness, and work quality.

Excellent 4.9

14 reviews

5
93%
4
7%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%

Read reviews that mention:


Carolyn W.

Amanda has helped my 16 year old son with English, Chemistry, History and Math. He has struggled this year to stay caught up yet never wanted tutors so they just didn't work out in the past. Amanda has built a relaishionship with him and he feels comfortable asking for help. Amanda has stepped up and come las minute to get late work in before deadlines were missed.
Apr 9, 2021
Roxanne H.

Math Tutoring

Amanda is amazing!!! She was able to go over some problems my son was having in his Math class. He now has a way better comprehension and will be ready to tackle his exam tomorrow.
Mar 5, 2021
·
Verified
Andrew j.

Math Tutoring

This is a quality tutor, that cares for the client as if they were family.
Apr 8, 2021
·
Verified
Jocelyn A.

Amanda is wonderful! She has helped my daughters build confidence in their math skills and has really helped them stay focused on homework assignments!
May 6, 2021
Kaitlyn T.

Amanda is awesome! She tutored me for one semester last year while taking college algebra. I wouldn’t of pass the class if it was not for her. She was a trooper with the start of COVID and teach virtually.
Apr 19, 2021
Credentials
Background Check

Amanda Hirschmann

FAQs

  • What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?

    I charge $30/hour per student. Discount: If teaching more than one student at once, the price increases by $15 per student. Fee: For every week after the appointment, a $10 fee will be applied to the charge.

  • What is your typical process for working with a new customer?

    I try to sit down with a student and both analyze the gaps in their understanding and engage them personally. Often if a student is struggling with a concept in high school math, they failed to learn another problem years before. I know how to identify and rectify these gaps.

  • What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

    Bachelor's of Science in Mathematics 2.5 years of tutoring experience

Not what you’re looking for?

No problem: we have pros for every job.