Tutoring by Jake
Tutoring by Jake

Tutoring by Jake

Offers remote services
Discounts available
Offers remote services
Discounts available
$50/hour
estimated cost


Select a service
Zip code
Student age
Current writing level

Responds in about 2 hours

Introduction: Thanks for checking out my profile! I began tutoring full-time after graduating from Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) two years ago. As a 24 year old and recent college grad, I can relate to my students on a personal basis and explain material in a way that is practical and simple to follow. I teach many different subjects, including but not limited to Spanish, SAT prep and math through precalculus. My favorite subject to teach is Spanish, because I began learning it in high school and ended up fluent after living for a year abroad in Madrid, Spain! I like to tell my students this because it shows how school can lead to exciting paths in the future. I look forward to working with your student to help achieve his or her full academic potential!
Overview

Hired 1 time

Serves Phoenix, AZ

Background checked

1 employee

2 years in business

Payment methods

Apple Pay, Check, Venmo, Zelle

Reviews

Customers rated this pro highly for work quality, professionalism, and responsiveness.

Exceptional 5.0

10 reviews

5
100%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%

Read reviews that mention:


Farrell H.

Our son has ADD a has some documented processing concerns. We hired Jake to help our son with school assignments and give him a little more confidence. Then Covid hit and Jake became an integral part of our sons education. Often times, he would meet with our son last minute to help with tests, in addition to the weekly, and sometimes bi weekly sessions. Jake is flexible, relatable and does an amazing job with the kids. He breaks down lessons, explains things well and knows how to get a kid to open up and work. My kid doesn’t like to ask for help, he hates school … but he would always ask for Jake when he needed help. I highly recommend Jake if you have a child that needs some extra help with school.
Jul 14, 2021
Laurel B.

Jake is extremely knowledgeable in many subject areas. He is an excellent tutor because he can effectively communicate and teach difficult subject matter. We are so grateful we referred to him for Pre Calculus and SAT preparation. Best tutor out there!
Aug 26, 2021
Claire R.

Jake is an amazing tutor. He has helped me write very important essays for getting into medical school. He is easy to work with and highly intelligent. Jake is an exquisite writing and was able to get my thoughts into beautiful essays. 10/10 recommend Jake to all my friends and family!
Jul 31, 2021
Todd L.

Jake has tutored both my daughters for the past 2 years. He has helped them in multiple subject areas. He’s a great teacher and is very knowledgeable in a variety of subjects!
Jul 17, 2021
Rose Marie F.

Jake connected with my 14 year old and made him feel comfortable pretty quickly. His grades improved with each test and his confidence seemed to soar. My son does not like school or studying very much and he somehow seemed to have a more responsible attitude. Jake is very flexible with appointment times. and responsive to all our needs. He is great to work with, very nice, knowledgeable and most importantly..teaches well!
Jul 14, 2021
Credentials
Background Check

Jacob Sheptin

FAQs

  • What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?

    I offer a new student discount of $40 / hour the first time clients purchase 5+ hours in advance. After that, I offer a discounted rate of $45 / hour for any purchases of 5+ hours in advance. My base rate on a per-session basis is $50 / hour.

  • What is your typical process for working with a new customer?

    I usually schedule a phone call or Zoom chat with new customers prior to our first session. This allows me to get to know the client on a personal basis and to understand their specific goals and needs in tutoring. From there, we schedule our first session, which will be planned based on the subject matter and student’s goals.

  • What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

    I graduated from Washington University in St. Louis (WUSTL) in May of 2019 as a business major and a Spanish minor. In high school, I took as many AP and Honors classes as possible. My academic background gives me the experience and skills necessary to help students excel at all different levels of learning. The combination of my Spanish minor and year spent living in Spain allows me to teach both written and conversational Spanish.

Not what you’re looking for?

No problem: we have pros for every job.