Homebased Academy
Homebased Academy

Homebased Academy

Offers remote services
Discounts available
Offers remote services
Discounts available
$30/hour
estimated cost


Select a service
Zip code
Entity type

Responds within a day

Introduction: I'm a two-times MIT graduate with over 20 years experience tutoring a variety of subjects as well as a former Boston Language Institute Spanish Instructor (and native speaker). I create lessons specifically designed and priced to fit your learning and budget needs. I am also an experienced K-12 tutor (including teaching to children with learning challenges) in all subjects including SAT/TOEFL preparation. I have accumulated experience helping children to read through the DISTAR method. The next paragraph explains my Spanish experience and the later one my experience in all other subjects: I've helped Latinos perfect their Spanish, business professionals prepare for an upcoming trip to Latin America, employers understand their employees and employees understand their bilingual peers. I’ve also helped people just trying to pick up a foreign language. I create lessons plans that are unique to your level and learning preferences and I modify the classes to your needs which speeds up your learning curve and helps you absorb and retain what you've learned. I provide all the materials online and I leverage convenient and free, highly rated applications as part of the tools we work with. In addition, I teach all levels of Spanish: Beginners, Intermediate or Advanced seamlessly weaving, not just conversational, but writing and reading skills if you so desire! If you’re interested in Spanish, let's discuss a lesson plan that personally addresses your needs. I also tutor all core subjects K-12 including SAT/TOEFL preparation, accounting and finance for college as well as reading through the DISTAR method to children. I help students with their homework if they need as well, explaining the homework to them, not doing it for them. I'm an experienced professional tutor including teaching to students with learning disabilities. Aside from helping students improve their test scores in any subject, I can also help students with papers, college and grad school applications. I have an acquaintance who is a chess champion and I send all chess class inquiries to him. My tutoring rate is $20-$30/hr depending on frequency (5 to 1 classes weekly). All my classes are through Zoom or Skype.
Overview

Hired 1 time

Serves Tucson, AZ

Background checked

1 employee

21 years in business

Payment methods

Square cash app, Venmo, Zelle

This pro indicated that they reviewed CDC safety guidelines for COVID-19 and pledged to do the following:

Maintain 6 feet of distance from customers

Wear masks during the job

Wear gloves during the job

Disinfect surfaces touched during the job

Featured Projects

5 photos

Reviews

Customers rated this pro highly for value, work quality, and professionalism.

Good 4.3

6 reviews

5
83%
4
0%
3
0%
2
0%
1
17%


pro avatar
Chris K.
1 month ago
Laura is a great teacher. She is very patient and understanding with someone trying to learn a new launguage. But she will emphasize on the important things that are needed to be learned and properly said right. The fee for the class is very resonable. I highly recommend Laura for learning Spanish as a beginner or an intermediate.
pro avatar
Senobio P.
Jul 7, 2021
Laura has been teaching my three children (8,11,12) for a little more than a year now. Our experience has been satisfying. My kids enjoy the clases. Often Laura will spend more time with my kids until they finish their homework and understand it all. We absolutely recommend her! she is great with kids.
pro avatar
Angie D.
2 weeks ago
·

Hired on Thumbtack

Hired on Thumbtack

If I could I would add zero stars. She clearly did not have time to assist me as she spent most of my two lessons distracted with her kid. I understand that these are difficult times so I continued. On my third lesson, she never sent me a zoom link, I text her and waited and have yet to receive a response. Such a disappointment but you get what you pay for.

Details: 26 - 44 years old • Intermediate • Professional or academic verbal comprehension • Intermediate • Intermediate • Professional or academic reading/writing • 60 minutes • Phone or internet (no in-person meeting)

Spanish Lessons
pro avatar
Nathan H.
Jun 29, 2021
Very knowledgeable about language theory. Very helpful for new student of Spanish.
pro avatar
Mark W.
Jun 28, 2021
Laura is a great Spanish teacher! She is always very patient and encouraging.
Credentials
Background Check

Laura Santaella

FAQs

  • What should the customer know about your pricing (e.g., discounts, fees)?

    1-2 classes weekly: $30/hr 3-4 classes weekly: $25/hr 5 classes weekly: $20/hr

  • What is your typical process for working with a new customer?

    Diagnostic testing, provision of free materials, goal setting, discussion of class structure (to develop speaking, listening, reading and writing) and schedule design.

  • What education and/or training do you have that relates to your work?

    Boston language institute training + 20 years experience

Not what you’re looking for?

No problem: we have pros for every job.