Gresham, OR43 English Tutors near you

Where do you need the English tutor?

Answer a few questions

Tell us what you need so we can bring you the right pros.

Get quotes

Receive quotes from pros who meet your needs.

Hire the right pro

Compare quotes, message pros, and hire when ready.

Gresham English Tutors

Browse these English lessons with great ratings from Thumbtack customers in Gresham.

Top Pro
Tutoring with Loren
4.9
from 17 reviews
  • 10 years in business
  • 16 hires on Thumbtack
  • Top Pro on Thumbtack
Alice C.
Verified review

I've enjoyed my French lessons with Loren. He makes the lessons fun and he is very patient with me. He definitely has a passion for language and it shows in his teaching style.

Mari's Tutoring
5.0
from 10 reviews
  • 6 years in business
  • 12 hires on Thumbtack
Polly G.
Verified review

Mari has been tutoring my kids for some months and always comes on time, prepared, and motivated. She plans the lessons with their differing abilities in mind, and keeps the learning engaging. It's working well for us.

High Peak Tutors
4.9
from 8 reviews
  • 2 years in business
  • 16 hires on Thumbtack
Saba H.
Verified review

Thorough, accomodating, professional. We found Mr Judkins a thorough gentleman, taught my daughter English Ap 2. He always accomodated us into his schedule though he was very busy himself. We had no confidence in skype sessions but he made my daughter ease into them. She benefitted greatly from his knowledge and expertise. We intend to use his services for my daughter's admission process too.

  • 13 hires on Thumbtack
SAORI T.
Verified review

She is professional and good teacher. she taught me English flexibly so I could learn the topics I wanted to learn in each lesson. I learned pronunciation, grammar and vocabularies by using some articles and topics which I am interested in. I especially wanted to learn business English, so she proofread my resume and cover letter, and also practiced for job interviews. This experience was valuable for me.

ESL Teacher
5.0
from 5 reviews
  • 3 hires on Thumbtack
Philipe I.
Verified review

Sylvia teached our kids and my husband during our stage in San Francisco. She was a very professional and nice teacher. She prepared the classes very well and they were adapted to our level. She was very warm with the kids and my husband enyoied the classes as well. I would choose Sylvia again for our english classes if I would be back to SF.

Speak Learn Love French
5.0
from 2 reviews
  • 4 years in business
Kate P.
Verified review

Julie is my French tutor. She has been a kind and patient teacher. She continually comes up with new ideas to help me learn and to ensure my progress is pertinent to my goals. I have greatly appreciated her determination in making sure that I speak French properly. Our sessions together are always fun and I am always inspired to continue to learn after our time together. Merci Beaucoup Julie!

  • 4 years in business
  • 4 hires on Thumbtack
Dawn P.
Verified review

Heather is by far more than I could've asked for in a tutor. I look forward to working with her over the next couple of months. Dawn

About

I am a certified adult ESL teacher, and I can help you learn English! Flexible schedule - morning, afternoon, evening, and weekend classes are available. Beginners, intermediate, TOEFL candidates, business English - I have an experience working with all levels. I have a master's degree and a graduate TESOL certificate, plus many years of experience. I am a native English speaker, born and raised on the west coast. I have reasonable rates and flexible schedule. We can meet at a library, coffee shop, fast food restaurant, school/campus, or your home or business. Mornings, afternoons, evenings, weekends - all are ok! I work with individual students and with small groups (friends, parents, family members, co-workers). Rates are negotiable and depend on length of session, number of sessions per week, travel distance, and number of students.

About

I have a Master's in Literature from Western Washington University and worked as a writing tutor in the U of W's English department for three years while earning my Bachelor's degree there.

About

I've tutored nearly 200 students over the last 5 years, in either Spanish or English, through the city's SUN School program and the Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization. Please let me know your level, your interest, and your availability, so I can try to meet your language learning needs. I can also interpret and translate for special events.

About

I help high and middle school students understand Math and English. At the end of the year, the students' hard work and willingness to learn will pay off!

About

I tutor English, math and algebra for K-12. I also teach reading comprehension, grammar and writing. I am a retired English and math teacher.

About

We provide the following services: * ACT Tutoring * Algebra Tutoring * English Lessons * French Lessons * Math Tutoring * Multi-Subject Tutoring * Reading and Writing Tutoring * SAT Tutoring * Spanish Lessons

About

I offer French and SAT tutoring services. I also provide sewing and knitting lessons for all ages -- children, high schoolers, college students and adults.

About

I am offering Greek language lessons for all levels -- beginner, intermediate and advanced. The lessons include cultural acclimation, cultural awareness and more.

About

Learn private (or small group) French lessons with a fluent and experienced teacher. I am attentive and patient and want to help you improve your French! I am especially good at helping to improve your accents.

About

I am an experienced English and English as a Second Language instructor/tutor in the Portland metro area with a diverse academic and professional background. Education: Senior Applied Linguistics major at Portland State University, GPA 3.06, Expected graduation December 2015. (70 hour) TESOL Certificate from Portland State University - June 2015 Associate of Science in Environmental Science from Tacoma Community College, June 2012 Associate of Art in Arabic from Defense Language Institute, June 2009 Relevant Experience: Tutoring: Arabic (2004-2009) Tutoring: Pre-calculus, Organismal Biology, Geology, History, Geography, English (2009-2012) Tutoring: English as a Second Language (ESL) (2014-2015) Teaching: English as a Second Language (ESL) (2015) I have tutored many students over the years and am nearly done with my teaching credentials. I would like to continue tutoring students in English before I leave the country to teach English abroad next June (2016). I am also a parent with a 9 year old daughter and a 7 1/2 year old son. They both demonstrated delayed language skills, though my son's IQ is 168. I understand a parent's concerns about their children keeping up with their peers and providing appropriately challenging lessons for talented students. Hobbies/Interests: As a child I excelled in school, attending gifted student programs in elementary, left the 7th grade mid-year to attend high school (9th grade in my region) and left high school after the 10th grade to go to college. During my early education, I struggled with standardization and understand that students think in a variety of ways. The way a student learns isn't always compatible with a teacher's or textbook's approach. Variety and practicality are often much better options for these students. I am an active martial arts student and have practiced Judo, Hapkido, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu(BJJ), Aikido, Muay Thai and general MMA skills over the past 3 months. In the past, I was a Marine Corps Martial Arts Program trainer and trained in Haganah using the F.I.G.H.T. system originating in Israel. I understand students whose interests are in physical, rather than academic, subjects, as well as how to use those passions to learn English. Other active hobbies of mine include table top roleplaying games and camping. I have a passion for writing and storytelling that I enjoy sharing with others in the games that I play. It is often easier to engage younger students through learning tasks that are fun than those kinds of tasks typically found in textbooks.

About

There are lots of wonderful teachers who do a great job and enjoy what they do. If I stand out from others, it is because I am enthusiastic, love teaching and will not rest until I help you improve your language skills!

About

Tutoring on a one and one basis, flexible hours. Will drive 1-hour radius.

About

About

I am not only a tutor and editor but also a writer. I can help you find your writing process and work with you on every step, from brainstorming to logical development to word choice.

Actual Requests

See other requests for english tutors in Gresham

Need Spanish Language Lessons

Portland, OR

  • Language type
    Spanish
  • Current level
    Beginner speaking, Beginner reading/writing
  • Frequency
    Not sure
  • Details
    I am primarily interested in learning Latin American dialects of Spanish, however plan on taking several long trips to barcelona in the coming year and would like to learn about differences in European and Latin American dialects as well.
  • $132
    Average price
Hire skilled professionals for absolutely everything.