Athens, GA307 Tutors near you

Where do you need the tutor?

Answer a few questions

Tell us what you need so we can bring you the right pros.

Get quotes

Receive quotes from pros who meet your needs.

Hire the right pro

Compare quotes, message pros, and hire when ready.

Athens Tutors

Browse these tutors with great ratings from Thumbtack customers in Athens.

Michael Math
4.8
from 37 reviews
  • 72 hires on Thumbtack
Leeann J.
Verified review

Michael is a wonderful math tutor for our daughter. He is patient and assuring. He confirms she understands the problems reviewed before advancing to new information. He is engaging and genuinely interested in his student's success. We highly recommend him as a tutor.

Math & Science Tutor
4.8
from 26 reviews
  • 28 hires on Thumbtack
Jackson R.
Verified review

Great tutor, saving my ass this summer.

  • 54 hires on Thumbtack
Tomeca F.
Verified review

Awesome tutor, very personable, respectful and great with my daughter and son. He helped my daughter get in some extra help before taking the SAT a second time. She went in feeling a lot more comfortable when it came to the math.

Top Pro
Discovery Reading
5.0
from 11 reviews
  • 2 years in business
  • 20 hires on Thumbtack
  • Top Pro on Thumbtack
Jeannette B.
Verified review

Excellent Tutor and very responsive to needs

Khalid Rashied
5.0
from 3 reviews
  • 6 hires on Thumbtack
Monira U.
Verified review

Amazing person!

  • 1 hire on Thumbtack
Heidi G.
Verified review

Mrs. Davis brings a lot of knowledge and experience to her tutoring sessions. My daughter's reading ability, curiousity, and self confidence have really blossomed with Mrs. Davis. I recommend her very much!

Algebra Tutoring
5.0
from 1 review
    Kathy C.
    Verified review

    We had a wonderful experience with Beth Reed. She came to us and was on-time, professional and was able to keep my daughter on task (not always easy). My daughter had failed the state-mandated math portion of the high school graduation test 3 times. After a few sessions with Mrs. Reed, she passed it on her fourth try.

    About

    I am a tutor and a creative writing freelancer. I am a former Montessori teacher with ten years experience in the classroom. I also can facilitate groups of children or adults.

    About

    I offer language tutoring and instruction in Spanish, French and ESL for clients seeking private lessons.

    About

    I am a student at Oxford College of Emory University. I am also in a five-year program with Georgia Tech. I got perfect scores on both SAT and ACT Math sections 800 and 36, respectively. Also, I got 5s on both AP calculus and chemistry. I have tutored many students from all ages. My rate is $15.00 per hour. Some of the subjects I tutor include: - Algebra I and II - Calculus I and II - trigonometry - geometry - physics - SAT math - ACT math - AP calculus - AP physics - AP chemistry I am able to come to any place you want me to come near Oxford, Covington, or Conyers area. If it is more than 15 miles away from my house, we can meet somewhere in between, or I can come to your house with an extra of $5.00 per hour for a total of $20.00 per hour. I am free during late afternoons and evenings, as well as during weekends. Thank you. - Cool Cheng

    About

    We offer one-to-one instruction, no contracts, and guaranteed results! Our programs include Math, Reading, Writing, Study Skills, and SAT/ACT prep. Our students range from grades K-12, and work with us for different reasons. Some students are struggling with their current grade level and need help building their academic skills to catch up to grade level. Other students are enrolled in Enrichment programs because they are working to ahead of their current grade level. Our methods also work very well for students who learn differently. Whether a child has ADHD or a learning disability, our system is designed to work for all types of styles and needs.

    • 19 years in business
    About

    I am tutoring for high school students with algebra and school physics. I am helping them to improve their skills in mathematics. I can serve my student in a way that they will liked it and by cooperation and hard working we will achieve a better result in school or in collage. If you want to be successful in your academic achievement and get faster to your goal, I think i will be the best choice for your tutor teacher. I am a teacher that care for my student to perform 100% good and the trick how to with issues in higher classes.

    About

    We offer 3 way learning system, Web Book, Work Book, Home Work

    • 10 years in business
    About

    I have a Bachelor of Arts' degree in English. I believe that teaching is more than imparting knowledge – it is inspiring change. Good teaching fosters sense of student control over learning and interest in the subject matter. I create learning tasks appropriate to the student’s level of understanding. I also recognize the right the uniqueness of individual learners and avoid the temptation to impose “mass production” standards that treat all learners as if they were exactly the same. In order for learning to occur, students need to connect to their own prior knowledge. Connections are like building bridges between the old and new. This building bridge can be brief or in-depth as long as it serves the needs of all learners. Reassessment determines prior knowledge whereas connections provides the link between old knowledge and new knowledge. I have been teaching AP Spanish and English for 20 years including two years at the middle school level. Each student learns differently and I always adjust my methods in order to get the best results from each learner. 98% of my students raised their English / Spanish AP grade from D to A; you/your child can, too. The role of a tutor is to help the student help himself. Tutoring is the short term answer to help the student gain confidence and learning skills. In other words, my objective is more than rote learning; it is about making connections to the real world. I include appropriate character development with real world connections with every lesson. Overall, I am trained to differentiate any lesson through scaffolding techniques, as well as rigorous assessment, making sure to present appropriate and leveled instruction. I look forward to meeting your student to see if we have an academic fit.

    • 9 years in business
    About

    I am a certified tutor who travels to you. * Reading and Spelling * Dyslexia * Handwriting * Math K-8 I use Barton Reading and Spelling, an Orton-Gillingham curriculum, for students with dyslexia, or persistent reading and spelling problems. I am a Barton Certified Tutor. I also tutor handwriting and math. Trained by Handwriting without Tears, I use their very effective, multisensory materials. I have tutored or taught math for grades K-9 for seven years. With initial and continual assessment and frequent updates with parents, I write lessons that target very specific areas of need. My 15 years teaching experience in public elementary and middle school classrooms, Sylvan, Math Monkey, and as a private tutor, as well as my tutoring certificate from a “top ten” university, have given me excellent tools and experience to teach your child. Training and certification in two Orton-Gillingham-based systems have provided the expertise to tutor dyslexia, or persistent reading and spelling problems. I also worked for 10 years as a hospital social worker for children with learning problems and as a children’s librarian. My mission in life is to help children, which I do best by giving them the competence and confidence to overcome academic hurdles. I am very aware of the struggle for self-esteem faced by children with learning difficulties, and I’m very careful to show no impatience with their mistakes. For learning to take place, it's important that a student knows I like him/her. I spend extensive time preparing lessons so as to tailor them to a student’s needs, but there is no additional charge for that. When it best serves the learning goal, I draw from my extensive collection of educational games to practice specific skills. Students work hard in my sessions, but there are ways to make reading, writing, and math fun. Read lots of parent reviews at my website. I serve near the following areas: * Buford * Braselton * Flowery Branch * Hamilton Mill * Dacula * Hoschton

    About

    I have extensive experience in teaching and tutoring students in algebra and geometry. I focus on clear explanations of basic principles and detailed reviews.

    About

    The goal of Spanish tutoring is to facilitate the learning and understanding of the Spanish language to kids and adults. By learning Spanish, students will be able to comprehend the Spanish culture by learning to speak, read, and write it.

    • 11 years in business
    About

    I provide math tutoring for students. I work to get students to understand math, instead of following rules through rote memorization. This is often done through the use of hands-on manipulatives to develop a deeper understanding of concepts and through the use of problem solving to enable students to apply what they have learned.

    About

    I am a certified high school science teacher with 7 years of experience. I am also an experienced ACT tutor with proven success.

    About

    I am willing to help your child learn and remember the material. I know how hard it can be for a student and everyone learns differently. Let me help your child today!

    About

    I tutor Spanish. I can also be a Spanish translator or interpreter. I also give piano lessons to children ages 8 to 15.

    Hire skilled professionals for absolutely everything.